The day after Christmas Day…

Posted: December 26, 2010 in Christmas, Family, Feel-Good, Food, Greetings

I have not been updating my blog for the longest time ever! Saint Nicholas day (6th Dec) came and went, my older son’s birthday (9th Dec) came and went, my DH’s birthday (15th Dec) came and went, Christmas Day (25th Dec) came and went, and the snow?  It came and came and came ..… I was neither away on holiday nor was I sick or bed-ridden or anything close to that. Blame it on my workload! It has taken a toll on my supposedly “free time”.  Frankly speaking, I have not found any decent free moments to focus my mind on updating my blog.  But of course, I have had fleeting moments browsing other bloggers’ blogs and leaving a comment or two whenever I could.  One way to say that “I’m very much alive” !  😉

With a temperature of -10°C outside and 30 cm of snow, I guess only the more sensible people stay indoors! But the out-of-my-mind self went around the vicinity and took some of these pictures recently –

Snow-capped road in front of our apartment – snow-capped garden table set – our backyard covered with the white carpet –  frozen fountain

Christmas Day, 2010

My first free day this month. I tried not to check my work emails, otherwise I’d be glued at my laptop. Furthermore, we had a visitor for Christmas lunch – my brother-in-law, so there’s the full Christmas menu to think about.

Here were what we had on Christmas Day lunch.

Hot appetizers of zakouskis and devils on horseback. For the later, I used prunes wrapped in streaky bacon

Give me a warm soup anytime.  We had lobster bisque and it really did justice to expel the winter qualms.

 

Our warm starter of feuilletine of goose liver was an eye-opener, and I am not even a fan of foie gras !  My DH bought this starter as an experiment to add another dimension to our otherwise mundane lunches or dinners.  I made the balsamic cream sauce to go with the starter.  You can find the recipe here: Balsamic Cream Sauce Recipe – Allrecipes.com, however, I changed the measurement of the recipe here and there.  I prefer my balsamic cream sauce to be a little bit more tangy, so I added a bit more of the balsamic vinegar and cut down on the grated parmesan and butter.  I used light culinary cream (Gervais finess ) and it worked!  Trust me!

 

Well, probably the star of the day was the dear old turkey.  We bought this bird stuffed, but not baked yet, so it was still raw.  For a 3 kg de-boned turkey, it took me a little less than 3 hours to bake or roast the bird.

The out-of-the-oven turkey, ready to be carved

 

Slices of the stuffed turkey, plated up with cranberry sauce on a bed of sautéed vegetables of Belgian endive, glazed baby carrots and bacon wrapped green beans. As this was my plate, there were no other carbohydrates, spelled as follows: p*o*t*a*t*o*e*s!  Food is in abundance this festive season and I guess, it’s really time to cut down on all these heavy eating 😀 !

 

Finally…..DESSERT !!! We had this rather special Yule log cake, quite different from the ones we had before. Oh, by the way, I was glad there’s no butter cream on this one.  The outer layer was a thin film of jelly, covering an olive green-coloured sponge cake.  The second layer was chocolate mousse and the middle layer was crushed raspberry plus the coulis. I thought it was really good, with an explosion of flavours and texture. 

We had a good Christmas meal…without a doubt, but let us all ponder on the real meaning of Christmas. Christians all over the world celebrate Christmas for a reason – the birth of the Christ child. This is why Christmas is called the incarnation, meaning “in the flesh”. In the birth of Jesus, the eternal, all-powerful and all-knowing Creator came to earth in the flesh.

I wish all my readers a Blessed Christmas!

The Day After…

Now moving on to the day after – Boxing Day, I leave this message to you all:

May this Boxing Day be as happy and as cheerful as Christmas was. May the happy story continue till the New Year and take over from there too. Have a great Boxing Day and a wonderful New Year ahead filled with peace, love, joy, happiness, good health and prosperity.

God Bless and see you all soon xxx

Comments
  1. MaryMoh says:

    I guess I am not adventurous as you…haha. I’m staying indoor. The snow is so thick outside! I’m keeping myself warm thought very tempted to run out and build a super quick snowman…haha. I guess I need all your mouth-watering food first 😛

  2. Nasifriet says:

    You know, it’s still snowing snowflakes outside. It’s beautiful to look at the white landscape, but yes, as you said, it’s better to stay indoor and keep ourselves warm, with a cup of glühwein. Hahaha…

    I read abt your Christmas holiday adventure. I’m glad you’re back in time for Christmas with your loved ones 😉

    Merry Christmas and happy holidays!

  3. Sandy says:

    Merry Christmas, Happy Boxing Day!

    What mouth-watering feast you had there! Yum Yum 😀

    Sandy

  4. Nasifriet says:

    Merry Christmas to you, too and Happy holidays!

  5. aileen chang says:

    GOD bless you & family… no wonder you’re bz, all those delicious food must have taken very much of your time to plan, prepare & execute… ha ha ha… so wish i was there ..beautiful pictures…

  6. dada says:

    hi che, now that’s what i call western Christmas…with snow, turkey with cranberry sauce…wow what a lovely Christmas. i bet ur boys surely enjoyed the food very much especially my dearest godson..hahahaha…perhaps one of these days i would love to experience Christmas the angmoway. hahaha

  7. X says:

    I’m gonna make turkey tonight so wish me luck!

  8. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks, my dear!

    I was in the kitchen for at least 4 hours! The turkey took most of my time, and I smelled like the roasted bird afterthat. Hahaha…
    You can imagine that after a meal of turkey, there is bound to be leftovers, and guess what we had for lunch after Christmas, after Boxing Day, today, tomorrow? Yep, T*U*R*K*E*Y !! 😛

    Hope you had a good Christmas. Oh yes, I was supposed to meet Mary on 22/12 but she missed her flight! How could she, eh???

    Hugs xxx

  9. Nasifriet says:

    Finally, we had an absolutely white christmas this year, quite apart from the christmases’ before. All we did was stay indoor in the warmth of our living room 😀

    Everyone did enjoy the christmas meal, but it’s sth I don’t do everyday. I’m glad there are turkey leftovers, so I don’t have to cook every day. Hahaha…

    Don’t think it’s a good idea to visit us during the christmas period. It’ll be a boring one for you, ‘cos we prefer to stay indoor during the cold winter period, just like the bears hibnernating in the caves. LOL!

    I’m sure you all had a grand time at Jules….

  10. Nasifriet says:

    OoooooHH!!! Good luck, my dear! 😛

  11. Julian C. Harry says:

    Shalom Che, lovely pictures, and……well , a Blessed Christmas to you and family. We had sort of experience the nasty North American winter last week ,where the temperatures went as low as -30 degrees. It was an experience for us who are from the land of temperatures thats above 30 degrees and thats on a normal day. The kids loved it and for Kiaw and I, after two weeks of experiencing the cold and harsh Canadian winter,we have completly lost our novelty of snow. ….but that two weeks of experience ,my dear Che , is just an “appetizer ” to us ……soon, we will be ready for the main course… ; ) lol…

  12. Nasifriet says:

    Well said, Jules. But remember that’s just the tip of the iceberg 😉

    I’m glad you, Kiaw and the boys experienced this first hand. Temps in North America is a lot “harsher” than in Europe. So far the coldest we have had this winter was -15C and now we are back to the norm of between -3C to +2C. It has stopped snowing which is a good sign. I hate driving in the snow. It’s so dangerously slippery and wet. Our cars aged faster from the result of the salt on the roads. I heard from Da and Nie that you had a good time in C’da and made a surprise visit to mum’s aunt. I can imagine her expression abt you being a ‘pai lang’! Hahahaha… Good to know that you could find our relatives there. Have you visited Vancouver? The 2nd largest China Town outside of Asia after San Francisco. Ita is there, too.

    How was the christmas party? Heard it was a success and there were lots of ppl. Way to go, bro! Your last christmas-do in KCH.

  13. jules says:

    Yes,its just the tip of an ice berg” and in the words (wise?) lol) of former Preside.”Bush..”.bring em on” ha ha!
    “Sio Boi Ee” is 86 years old and she still looks good for her age. She vividly remembers mom and our late Dad. She lives comfortably with Peter her son in a nice neighbourhood North of Edmonton.Vancouver was just a transit of an hour or so . Its definetly very Asian over there and its booming with new money from China/Asia.The Christmas party was indeed a finale atBDC..but life goes on. .

  14. Nasifriet says:

    Oh YES….life goes on for all of us. 2011 will be an important year for you and your fam. No looking back, bro like a horse wearing the blinkers or blinders… focussing straight on – no side tracking. I’m sure it’ll be an interesting year. I’ve started mine already, ie I’m staying in the network, doesn’t matter for how long, but I’m there… 😉 Keeps me on my toes 24/7 !

    All good wishes to you, Kiaw and the boys. Come visit us some day 🙂 Not during the winter, pls!

  15. Julian C. Harry says:

    I could still remember the other day, when we left Edmonton airport ,the ticketing guy asked us why do we visit Edmonton in Winter, and he jockingly said, your friends and relatives who invited you must have hated you so much that they invited you to visit them during winter and he had this very funny expression on his face where we all laughed aloud about it, but being Canadian, he was gracious and friendly by saying ,you must come in June or July as Edmonton/Canada is always beautiful and at its best by then. Well,…will see. : )

  16. Nasifriet says:

    Agree. Worst season to go to for a holiday is winter! The nights are longer. All touristic spots are closed by 5pm. Absolutely nothing to do with the cold temps. That’s why we prefer to stay home, enjoy a hot cup of glühwein or hot choc. The only place worth visiting around Christmas time is the Christmas Market. It’s all over Europe. We were in Aachen (Germany) last week and it was great. Of course we had glühwein 😛 !!

    Same here, come visit us in Spring or summer 😉

  17. Angeline says:

    Merry Christmas & Happy 2011 to you and all your loved ones 😀

  18. Nasifriet says:

    And to you, too, Angeline 😀

    May all your dreams come true in 2011 😉

  19. That’s a wonderful Chrsitmas meal! That yule log is quite different but it sound delicious. We had lots of snow but the weather warmed up enough for some it to melt. Temperature dipped again today and we’ll be having more snow. Wishing you and your family a very Happy, Healthy, and prosperous New Year!

  20. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks, Brien. Your christmas meal looked amazingly scrumptious. Love your roast rib.. and the labour of love you have given to every single food you prepared. YUM YUM! 😛

    The weather over here is getting milder, with the mercury on a positive note.. the snow is melting, but I heard it’s going to get colder again on Monday 😦

    Happy New Year to you and your family!

  21. […] last Friday in February! We did NOT have a white Christmas in 2011, unlike 2010 (check my post: https://nasifriet.wordpress.com/2010/12/26/a-day-after-christmas-day/). The average temperature in December was 6.1°C with a maximum recorded for the month at 12.3°C, […]

Let me know your thoughts...

