Let’s do the Height Test

Posted: February 10, 2012 in Did you know?, Feel-Good, Informative, Nostalgia

Have you ever wondered how you have attained your current height? I’m neither a doctor nor an orthopedist or a scientist, but what fascinates me most is reading some write-ups or researches about predicting how tall your child will be when he or she becomes an adult. 

There are several schools of thought. In this post, I’m putting 2 simple formulae to test. Let’s have some fun, okay?

First of all, you need to have a child in this test.  I have 2 “guinea pigs”.  I will put one to the test – my firstborn, who is now 15 years old.

Formula # 1

Measure yourself and your spouse and record these heights. Add both heights together and divide the total by two. If your child is a boy, add 6.4 cm (2.5 inches) to this height. If your child is a girl, then subtract 6.4 cm (2.5 inches) from this height.

For this formula, my end result is 178 cm (circa 5ft 10 in)

Verdict: The test flunked for my firstborn. At 15 years old, he is taller than the test result by a few centimetres. Seeing that he is still growing and has not reached his adult height, I will eliminate Formula # 1.  On the other hand, I will not rule out this formula as hopeless, as I still have another guinea pig to test on in the next 5 or 6 years 😀

Formula # 2

This method is called the two years times two formula, however, this height predictor test is for a boy only. Sorry girls!

For this method, you need to take your son’s height when he was 2 years old and multiply it by two.

By the way, did you keep track of your son’s height when he was 2 years old? I did!  If your son is not two yet, I suggest you keep track of his height and try this test to vouch for its accuracy.  I’m seeing the result already and so far, it’s quite accurate for now.

Keeping track

In Belgium, there is a compulsory preventive family support policy, called Child and Family (“Kind en Gezin”). This service is gratis, with the aim of supporting women from pregnancy until the child reaches 3 years of age.

In other words, the history of the development of the child from birth to 3 years old is chronicled in a little booklet.  The booklet has changed in appearance, I know, but it was a blue booklet when I had my firstborn. For a girl, it was a pink booklet.

Here’s the indispensable blue Child & Family booklet for boys.

My firstborn at 2 years old

Height (or length) at 2 years old

As you can see, he was 91 cm in length at 2 years old.

Going back to Formula # 2, if you multiply your son’s length (or height) by two, you will end up with the result.

In my son’s case, his adult height is 182 cm (circa 6ft), ie 91 cm multiply by 2.

For the record, he’s now 181 cm tall (circa 5ft 11in) at 15 years of age. Only a centimetre away to confirm the accuracy of Formula # 2! Beats me, how tall he will end up to be at adult age. If he has passed the growth spurt, he won’t be growing a lot.

Most people stopped growing taller soon after puberty, but for some, the centimetres continue to stretch. 

I’m not hoping that my son will grow up to 2 metres (circa 6ft 7in).  The important thing is that he is taller than his mama and can help reach the top shelves of the kitchen cabinet as and when needed :-).  Pretty handy!

Mama and son

Here are two pairs of shoes just for the sake of comparison. The pair on the right belong to the then 14-year-old boy, while the pair on the left belong to the owner who has reached  the peak of her adult age , which is equivalent to no growing upwards but only sideways.  LOL!

Curious with the current height of your son? What are you waiting for? Check or recollect his height when he was 2 years old and take Formula # 2 , then get a measuring tape.  Didn’t I say it was FUN?  😀

Have a fantastic weekend !

Cheers…

Comments
  1. dada says:

    yarabi che tinggi betul si anak bujang u ya. What about si peisinty.

  2. Nasifriet says:

    K will probably fall under Formula # 1 🙂

  3. Chris says:

    I can’t find Alex’s baby book (which note his weight, height, and vaccinations) ….oops! I’m sure it’s in the house somewhere…pretty sure. 😀 So, I used formula #1 – which will put Alex at about 5ft. 11in. We’ll see if that’s the case. Hubby’s not too convinced. LOL.

  4. X says:

    Another method is to the shoe size. Did u check this out?
    Formula 1: He will be 181 cm
    Formula 2: He will be 180 cm
    Today: 179 cm
    Shoe size: 44.5 if you want to look for formula 3 🙂

  5. Nasifriet says:

    Formula # 1 is simple avg. If he’s 5ft 11in, it’s genetically pretty closed to the avg of both his mum and dad. I think formula # 2 may be more accurate as I see my 2nd boy would probably fall under formula #1 ! Keep searching for the book 🙂

  6. Nasifriet says:

    Hmmmm….. I think height depends on the parents (family), ie more genetic? Then again, if you have more than 1 child, like me, I know one has always been taller than the other. That’s what makes us so unique! I guess there’s a closer relationship between shoe size and limb size. He’s big-boned, no? That’s why he’s in the correct sport 😀

  7. X says:

    I think D will be taller than his dad as he is still growing and will exceed 181 cm. Your N is much taller than mine n let’s c this Sunday :). K being 2nd born usually tends to be smaller… BTW what is the shoes size of N?

  8. Nasifriet says:

    N has probably passed his growth spurt, so he’s slowing down a bit… I think your D (late bloomer) still has room for growth. I’m sure he’ll be taller than his dad 🙂 . Not sure abt shoe sizes playing a role with heights though. I know some ppl with big feet but rather short and vice versa with small feet…. As I said, body mass (weight) does play a role plus heights of the parents…. C ya!

Let me know your thoughts...

