The forgotten all-in-one-bowl Chocolate Cake

Posted: April 11, 2012 in Around the House, Cake, Easter, Food
Tags: , ,

When my sons were younger, we used to have LOADS of chocolate Easter eggs and chocolate bunnies lying around the house, weeks before and after Easter – all gifts from their uncles, aunties, late grandma, friends and of course from papa and mama as well.   There was a moment when there were too many of these chocolates around the house that I had to give them away to my colleagues and friends.  Now that my sons have outgrown this phase, I suddenly became fidgety and started ransacking the fridge and cupboards looking for chocolates. Zilch. Nada. Zip!

Then I saw cocoa powder in my kitchen cabinet and that’s how I ended up making this all-in-one-bowl chocolate cake.

Of Cement and Chocolates

If you were following my last post Our Veranda Project: Now you see it, now you don’t (Part 2), I mentioned that our veranda was not 100% completed, and I actually meant it. The contractors came yesterday morning and started cementing the floor of the veranda. That time, I was at home as I took the week off from work.

While the work was going on in our veranda, I decided to bake a cake! Mind you, baking a cake would have been one of the last things on my mind, if not for the measuring cups and spoons I got as a gift from a blogger friend, Chris . That became a wake-up call 😉

Scribbled past with a bright future

Alas, I couldn’t remember where I got this recipe. I had this recipe scribbled on a scruffy piece of paper since time immemorial. The only way to do justice to this scribbled past was to put a name and place for this recipe – on my blog!

I shall call it The forgotten all-in-one-bowl Chocolate Cake. I made a few adjustments and modifications here and there.

Ingredients

2 cups self-raising flour

2 cups sugar (I used 1 cup brown Cassonade Graeffe sugar and 1 cup castor sugar)

¾ cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I used Van Houten’s cocoa powder)

2 tsp baking powder

2 large eggs

A pinch of salt

1 cup buttermilk (I used 1 Tbsp white vinegar and filled the rest with milk measured to 1 cup. Let stand for 5 minutes until thickened)

1 cup vegetable oil (I used Culino corn oil)

1.5 tsp vanilla extract (I used Vahiné Vanillestokjes Poeder)

1 cup boiling water (I added 2 Tbsp Nescafé Gold Dessert instant coffee – trust me, you will not regret!)

Preparation –

1. Preheat the oven to 160 degrees Celsius

2. Lightly grease and flour the baking dish

3. Put all ingredients (except the boiling water with instant coffee) in a mixing bowl and mix well to form lump-free batter

4. Finally add the boiling water with the instant coffee and mix well for another minute.

Pour the cake batter in the baking dish and bake in the oven for 60 minutes, or insert a skewer in the centre of the cake. If it comes out clean, the cake is ready.

Et voilà !

  

I did not make the chocolate ganache because I wanted to avoid a messy affair! Instead I dusted some icing sugar on the cake and it was gorgeous.  I was extremely surprised with the result.  The cake was moist, dark, not too sweet and chocolatey – the way it should be.  

I will definitely make this cake again.  The next time I make this cake, I will add some chopped Walnuts. LOL!

With the same batter, I’m very sure we can use it for making cupcakes.  And yes, that’s on my to-do list as well 😉

By the way, I have no fancy KitchenAid or a Kitchen Robot – just a large bowl and a wooden spoon and all my strength and energy 😀

Have I convinced you enough? *wink*

Cheers!

Comments
  1. Angel says:

    OMG, I was SO craving a rich choc cake the whole day (googled up a few moist choc cake recipes) and now I see this! So yes, you have convinced me! 😉 Question : if I don’t have any veg oil or instant coffee here, what can I substitute them with? Might just make it tomorrow or even tonight, hehe…..

  2. gerard says:

    We love chocolate cake… will try yours one day.

  3. Nasifriet says:

    Hey Angel, the ‘forgotten’ recipe just mentioned: vegetable oil. Since I have corn oil in my larder, I thought why not and the result was great. I guess, butter would be a substitute but will probably not give a moist finish, so why not try olive oil? I’m sure every kitchen in Belgium has a bottle of olive oil somewhere. Taste would be different, but it’s healthier, I reckon. No instant coffee? No worries, my friend, ‘cos the recipe did not even mention instant coffee. I was just curious, and wanted to be a bit different 😉

    Have I re-convinced you? 😀

  4. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks bro. And I’m sure even you can make it 😉

  5. Nasifriet says:

    Angel, do you have ovomaltine or milo? That would be the best substitute for instant coffee. By adding these “extras”, it gave the cake a much richer flavour – bitter sweet, which I liked a lot.

    BTW the cake’s gone within 24 hours!! LOL!

  6. rotinrice says:

    The cake looks really moist! Would be nice to have a slice now with my tea. Hope your verandah project is done and ready for the summer. 🙂

  7. Nasifriet says:

    Yes, the cake was very moist. Surprisingly, it was quite light, too. It was my first attempt in baking a chocolate cake, and I guess it will not be my last 😉

    Looks like we’re on schedule with the veranda project, meaning it should be ready in the next two weeks! Can’t wait 😀

  8. Chris says:

    The chocolate cake looks delicious! Will definitely keep it in mind the next time I crave something chocolatey. Love how simple it is too! You did forget your walnuts. ;D Bet they’ll go great together. Can’t wait to see your new veranda… 😀

  9. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks, Chris and the cake’s gone in less than 24 hours since baking time! Will definitely add some chopped walnuts the next time. I cracked a few more of these walnuts last weekend, so I have a jar full of shelled walnuts 🙂

    We’re as excited as you about the veranda. We can’t even walked inside the veranda due to the off-limits instruction from the contractor 😦

  10. Angel says:

    Did not make it in the end, loving hubby bought me assorted gourmet “mini” chocolate cakes, so my craving is satisfied temporarily 😉 I saw on another choc cake recipe that they added some rum liquor! I can imagine how that choc cake smells!!! 😉

  11. Nasifriet says:

    Well that’s a great alternative as well, but you should try making this. My first attempt and I thought it turned out pretty well. Yep, will splash some booze in the batter the next time 😀 The cake was eaten largely by the kids, so had to omit any form of alcohol. Next time will bake 2 separate cakes. LOL!

Let me know your thoughts...

