Guacamole with a twist

Posted: April 14, 2012 in Cooking with Herbs, Family, Food, Mexican, Vegetarian
Tags: , , ,

We have to thank the Aztec ethnics of Mexico for introducing this simple yet magnificent dish! Muchas Gracias!

Guacamole is an avocado-based mousse (sauce). The name is derived from two Aztec Nahuatl words, “ahuacatl” (fruit of the avocado tree) and “molli” (sauce).  It is traditionally made by mashing ripe avocados with pestle and mortar with course sea salt.

With the evolvement of time, wealth and technology, the recipe introduced new ingredients such as tomato, onion, garlic, juice of lemon or lime, chili and coriander leaves. One ingredient that I do not understand why it should be added in a homemade guacamole is the mayonnaise or sour cream (one or the other)!

By the way, the guacamole has become one of the best known dip or condiment to go with corn chips (tortilla chips) and is available in all Tex-Mex eateries. In places where avocados are expensive, guacamole is considered a delicacy.

Making avocados child-friendly

Avocados ranked one of the tops on the “hate list” for children. It must be because of the bland taste and mushy texture. When I cut a slice of raw avocado and gave it to my sons for the first time, they said it was disgusting!

I was promptly challenged by their action.  My sons have put me to the test, without them knowing it.  The day they spitted out the freshly cut slice of avocado was the day I converted my boys!

Here’s how I did it.

Ingredients –

4 ripe avocados (I used the Hass ready-to-eat avocados)

Grated garlic (1 tsp or more if you like garlic)

Very finely chopped onion (1 tsp)

Very finely diced tomatoes (halved and deseeded)

Plenty of chopped fresh coriander (leave some whole leaves for garnishing later)

Juice of 1 lemon (or lime) or more to taste

Course sea salt (I ground these and added to the rest to taste)

Freshly milled black pepper

Small amount of chicken stock cube (not too much, please!)

Peeled pre-boiled grey shrimps

8 lightly sautéed or boiled tiger prawns (for garnishing)

Preparation –

Assemble all the ingredients together, except for the tiger prawns and some whole coriander leaves.

Mash the mixture with a fork.  Do not over-mash and please do not forget to check the balance of taste and flavour to your liking.

The trick to keep your guacamole green

Once avocados are cut and exposed to air, they discolour rather quickly.  Although the taste remains constant, the discoloured guacamole may not look too appetizing. One of the tricks I learnt to keep the guacamole green is by putting the seed of the avocado in the guacamole-mix. The lemon or lime juice also helps in avoiding the colour change.

Here’s my version of the guacamole, prepared as a starter.  No corn chips, but topped up with lightly sautéed tiger prawn. It has become a winner with my guys. I have fully converted my boys, on the same day they spewed the avocado piece. My younger son was then 3 years old!

Yes!  The thrill of victory. 😀

 

Cheers!

Comments
  1. rotinrice says:

    My teenage boys also do not care for avocados. Perhaps I should entice them with some shrimps. 😉 They eat them though when I put them in sushi rolls. Thanks for the tip of adding the seed to the guacamole to prevent discoloration.

  2. Nasifriet says:

    You’re welcome, Biren!
    Since then, this starter has been one of my boys’ favourites. The younger one kept reminding me every Sunday lunch to prepare this starter 😀

  3. melharry says:

    Oh yes! I remembered this. And both your sons licked the platter cleaned. Then when i got back home, i did this and it was successful. sik dpt polah slalu avocado di sitok harga bedel. 1 biji is $12-15. Perhaps this weekend i may polah nya.

    Cheers.

  4. Nasifriet says:

    LOL! K kept reminding me abt making this starter… If you asked him what his favourite starters are. Guacamole is one of the tops. The shrimps make a lot of difference 😀
    I know avocados are expensive in M’sia, hence, guacomole is a delicacy over there :-D. You should always make guacamole with ripe (or ready-to-eat) avocados. If the avocados are still on the hard side (esp the green-skinned ones), put them in a paper bag with a banana and an apple. They will ripen pretty soon. Do not put them in the fridge when they are still hard, otherwise you will wait for next Christmas to make your guacamole LOL!!

  5. Sandy says:

    I’ve always loved avocados and definitely, shrimps, and this is a great way indeed to entice kids to like eating them. Thanks for sharing the idea.
    Sandy

  6. Chris says:

    Glad to hear that you managed to convert your boys, on the same day nonetheless. 😀 I had never thought to serve guacamole with shrimp. Gotta to try that one of these days. 😀

  7. Nasifriet says:

    Hi Sandy
    I know my kids love shrimps/ prawns, hence, this is the only way to get them eating these avocaados 😀

    Cheers!

  8. Nasifriet says:

    I guess you can’t go wrong with shrimps, can you 😀
    We all love sea food, and by adding something the boys like, is the best way to get them like eating these avocados. And if you asked my younger son what his favourite starter is (made by his mummy, of course 😉 ) he’d definitely mention this dish. He’d say, ‘the avocado thingie’ 😀

  9. Hello 🙂 Thank you for checking out my kerabu post and leaving your comment. I love avocados, but it was my Indonesian husband who taught me to appreciate them. I’m afraid I only managed to convert my eldest son, my two younger boys still won’t touch them no matter what. I’ve read about putting the seed back in the bowl of guacamole to prevent darkening, but I never believed it actually worked! Thanks for proving it does 🙂 I love your way of serving this with prawns and the recipe sounds delicious. The next time hubby brings home a bag of avocados, I will make it like this, and I won’t forget to add the stone!

  10. Nasifriet says:

    Hi Denise,
    Thanks for stopping by! Luckily my boys love prawns. I managed to mask the tastes and textures of the bland avocados by adding those crustaceans in the guacamole mix 😀 Give it a try and let me know. Yep, by putting back the avocoado stone back in the mix works for me 😉

    I’ll be checking out your and Biren’s battle going forward. Love your witty writing style ;-D

    Cheers!

  11. rsmacaalay says:

    I never knew that tip of using the seed, I will do that next time

  12. Nasifriet says:

    Hi Raymund!

    Nice to read you here. Yes, it works all the time for me. Leave the pit in PLUS lime/ lemon juice. Will stay green (in the fridge) for many hours (not days or weeks, though…) 😀 Anyway, when I make my guacamole, it always finishes in less than 48 hours..

  13. Miss B says:

    Hi Nasifriet,

    I must admit I have never heard of guacamole before (I am suaku)! But I am gonna try your recipe the next time I get hold of some avocados, though they are very expensive in Belgium. I only know how to make avocado milkshake with honey and gula melaka, recently made it and it was really delicious 🙂

  14. Nasifriet says:

    Hi Miss B
    Yes, I agree with you. Avocados do not come cheap these days. I always get the ready to eat ones (dark skin), which you can find these in Colruyt. I never try making avocados other ways, besides guacamole or in quick salads. Will try your milkshake recipe one of these days, or rather, when I get to buy avocados. Haven’t had them for quite a while now 😀

  15. […] A crustacean meal is always a hit with my family.  I have trained and moulded my brood’s palates at a tender age. I have disguised the most grotesque looking and tasting foods, at least where their hate food list is concerned, by adding these little arthropods and it saved my day! The guacamole, for instance. Our shrimpy friends made the difference – a lot of difference. You will know what I meant if you have read my post Guacamole with a twist. […]

  16. […] Guacamole with a twist […]

Let me know your thoughts...

