Slow Cooked Chicken Shiitake Mushroom and Ginger Soup #Slow-Cooker

Posted: May 26, 2013 in Asian, Chinese, Feel-Good, Little Thumbs Up!, Main Course, Malaysian, Poultry, Savoury, Slow Cooker, Soup
Tags: , ,

It’s Spring, but feels like Winter. The mercury level has not risen above 15 degrees Celsius the past few days. We have had a temperature of as low as 6 degrees Celsius during the day last week. To aggravate the situation even more, it has been raining cats and dogs.

To redress the dreary and depressing weather, I yearned for something warm.

Here’s what I made to liven up my body and soul during this chilly Spring climes. A bowl of warm goodness 😀

1. Mushroom ginger chix soup_with rice

Slowly but Surely

When I moved to Belgium many donkeys’ years ago, I brought my brand new slow cooker with me. By the way, I have not been using the slow cooker in years, until quite recently, when we moved house end 2011.

See how new my slow cooker looked like.

2. Mushroom ginger chix soup_brand new slow cooker

Slow cooking may sound like – duh – slow and a waste of time. Well, I think slow cooking is analogous to the “tortoise” in Aesop’s fable of the Tortoise and the Hare. A winning ‘loser’ – an unexpected STAR!

Yep, SLOWly but definitely, surely 😉

As this post suggests, there are three main stars – Chicken, Shiitake Mushrooms and Ginger.

I used the dried shiitake mushrooms in this recipe to enhance the flavour of the soup. Dried shiitake mushrooms can be stored for months in the kitchen pantry. The shelf life will even prolong if you put a paper packet of silica gel, which is used as a desiccant to control any humidity in order to avoid spoilage of the mushrooms. I was lucky to have got a packet of the silica gel when I bought a bag of the dried shiitake mushrooms.

3a. Mushroom ginger chix soup_Shiitake13b. Mushroom ginger chix soup_Shiitake2

This recipe is not adapted from any recipe books, but done out of memory of my Mum’s kitchen. All the ingredients I used in this recipe are readily available in my kitchen pantry and refrigerator.

Ingredients
(Serves 3 – 4)

2 chicken legs (skin removed and cut to divide into thighs and drumsticks)
8 – 10 dried shiitake mushrooms (soaked in hot water for 30 minutes until plumped up and remove stems)
5 cm piece fresh ginger (julienned)
2 cloves garlic (minced with coarse sea salt)
2 spring onions (cut in 2 cm length)
Soy sauce to taste (I used Kikkoman soy sauce)
½ to 1 capful of brandy or whisky (I used Jim Beam’s Bourbon Whisky – please note this is optional if you want an alcohol-free broth)
1 large carrot (cut in rounds or on the bias)
Salt and pepper to taste (or you may want to use chicken stock cube to taste in lieu of salt)
1 – 1.25 litre water
1 – 2 Tbsp Sesame Oil

Method

1. Sauté the julienned ginger and garlic in sesame oil, until fragrant
2. Assemble the slow cooker with the cut chicken parts (thighs and drumsticks) at the bottom (Note, you may want to pre-fry the chicken before transferring to the slow cooker. I did not pre-cook the chicken to save time)
3. Add the sautéed sesame oiled garlic and ginger mixture, then followed by the spring onions, carrots, soy sauce, shiitake mushrooms, whisky or brandy, water and salt and pepper to taste.
4. Set the slow cooker on High. This will take about 3 hours or until the chicken meat slightly falls off the bone.

4a. Mushroom ginger chix soup_all in slow cooker4b. Mushroom ginger chix soup_all in with shiitake

4c. Mushroom ginger chix soup_Jim Beam4d. Mushroom ginger chix soup_slow cooked on auto

My kitchen smelled heavenly with the amalgamation of the aromas of ginger, garlic, sesame oil and whisky – just as I remembered when I was in my Mum’s kitchen.

This is what I called “comfort food”, warming my cold, chilly Spring 😀

5. Mushroom ginger chix soup_bowl1

I am submitting this entry to Little Thumbs Up for the May “Mushrooms” theme, hosted by Joyce, kitchen flavours, organized by Zoe from Bake For Happy Kids and Doreen for my little favourite D.I.Y.

Photobucket

Happy Sunday everyone!

Cheers!

Comments
  1. That is certainly one lovely comfort soup! I wish we could exchange our weather for a couple of days! It is crazily hot over here, with temp as high at 35C on “bad days”!
    Though our hot weather does not stop us from enjoying soups such as this!
    Thank you for following and for linking to LTU! And nice to “meet” you!

  2. melharry says:

    Mom ask..aniek nou ta’au keman. Tu’keng angai ka’au misiek ji chef.

  3. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks for initiating this challenge 🙂 Have been following LTU for a while now, but have always been a silent reader 😀 Just needed that extra “push” to get my ingredients out to good use. Glad the theme was “Mushrooms”, cos I love and use quite a lot of mushrooms in my cooking. LOL!
    Looking forward to more challenges ahead. Will participate in the June’s event, which I noticed Miss B will be hosting….

    Cheers and always nice to “meet” and get to know another blogger 😉

  4. Nasifriet says:

    Lo ien ta’au keman amun halia ien da visible angai. LOL! Next time, will use the juice of the ginger… Kam sia to Mum 😀

  5. I love slow-cooked chicken soup and I love adding hard liquor to soup! Hmm, maybe I have to add my elixir d’ anvers since I don’t seem to have any brandy or whisky at home at the moment. 🙂

    My son was saying to me the other day, “mama, de juffrouw heeft gezegd dat het is bijna lente (het bijna lente is)” and I nearly fell off the chair! Het is al lente! :p

  6. Nasifriet says:

    Actuallly I did not mention in my post. I added more of the whisky just before serving the soup 😀
    You know this kind of soup can also be consumed by mothers in confinement. Something common in S’pore?

    Today is about the only nice “lente weer” at 18 deg C and “zonnig”.. 😀

  7. Nasifriet says:

    Oh BTW, just pm’d you this morning. Will submit the June entries for LTU event 😀

  8. Zoe says:

    Hi Nasifriet,

    Nice to hear from you and having you participating LTU mushroom event 😀

    It is cold cold now in Melbourne autumn and surprise that we are still having the same weather as yours :p Nice that this delicious mushroom ginger soup can keep you warm 😀

    Zoe

  9. Nasifriet says:

    Welcome back, Zoe! Nice to read you, again 🙂
    I just have to remind myself that the Southern Hemisphere is getting colder mid year 😀

    We have not had much sun since the actual autumn-winter seasons of late. We were lucky yesterday, with the familiar Spring temp of 18 deg C, but will dwindle to below 15C from tomorrow onwards 😦 Hence, a bowl of warm soup is very much welcomed 😛

  10. […] Slow Cooked Chicken Shiitake Mushroom and Ginger Soup (nasifriet.wordpress.com) […]

  11. Oh yes! Soup floats my boat 😉 Wish I could have some cool or even cold weather ….. been sweating it out for over two months now and running up ridiculous electricity bills because of the AC 😛 But I’ll take the soup in lieu. Notice how it cools you in hot weather and warms you up in chilly climes? How can you not love soup? Btw, nice blog renovation LOL And really nice having you back in the bloggieland 🙂

  12. It has been a wet and cold spring for us as well. Perhaps this will cause you to use your slow cooker more often. 😉 Your slow cooked chicken is perfect for such weather. Makes me want to cook something similar tomorrow.

  13. Nasifriet says:

    Hi Denise!

    Nice to read you 🙂
    Ah…. so that’s where all our warm weather flow 😀 While you’re sweating away, I’m snugged in my winter outfit. LOL! I’m looking forward to next week, when we are promised slightly warmer weather. Can’t wait to have a nice plate of cold salad 😉

    Thanks! Glad to be back 😀

  14. Nasifriet says:

    My slow cooker has been tucked away for far too long. Poor thing 😦 Ironically, I’m glad this cold spell “forced” me to use my slow cooker a lot more. So easy and the food tastes great. BTW, I love your slow cooked meals, Biren 😛

  15. […] Slow Cooked Chicken Shiitake Mushroom and Ginger Soup […]

Let me know your thoughts...

