Happy Chinese New Year 2014 … and a little surprise !

Posted: January 30, 2014 in Chinese New Year, Cookie, Feel-Good, Greetings, Snack, Sweet
Tags: , , , ,

Another year unfolds. 

It’s the Lunar New Year and the Chinese Year of the Wooden Horse, taking over from the year of the Water Snake.

1. 2014-year-of-the-horse

I made it…FINALLY!!

I cannot believe how time has flown by when you want to make the most out of it.  I have been procrastinating since time immemorial.  I am talking about making the pineapple tarts 😉

By the way, Miss B, if you are reading this, it’s for real.  I made the tarts…finally!! The pineapple paste you have given me last May is used at the most timely moment. Chinese New Year 2014! Thanks!

I was amazed with the result of the crumbly texture of the dough and how easy it was to make from start to finish.

Here are the results…

Nothing short of melt-in-the-mouth pineapple tarts.  Scrumptious!

2. Pineapple tart_jam balls3. Pineapple tart_melt-in-mouth dough

4. Pineapple tart_baked closed tarts15. Pineapple tart_baked closed tarts2

7. Pineapple tart_plate

6. Pineapple tart_jar

8. Year of the horse

Gong Xi Fa Cai! 

Wishing you all a good year ahead full of prosperity, wealth and health!

Cheers!

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    YUM! They look scrumptious! It feels more like CNY with this delicious treat, doesn’t it? 😀 GONG XI FA CAI to you and your family.

    Love,
    Chris

  2. Nasifriet says:

    I haven’t been very busy in the kitchen lately, but have been super busy at work 😦
    When I had a day off yesterday, I took the opportunity to make these cookies! They’re such a treat and my cookie jar is almost empty today!! I have to make my own pineapple paste next time…

    Happy Chinese New Year to you and your family. May the Horse be with you 😀

  3. Miss B says:

    Amai, super lekker! Sorry I’m late, I was counting down to you know what during cny, so I missed your post! You know I tried making the tarts with fresh pineapple filling, but it’s very tedious to make the filling and the filling is too wet for the dough.

  4. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks for the push, as always 😉Much appreciated. They were so good that my guys wanted me to make more. I thought of making the jam with fresh or canned pineapples, but I never got round to doing that yet. It’s the time factor cos we need to stir the jam for a long time. Like what you’ve said , tedious. I hope my sis will bring that jam paste when she comes to visit me next..

Let me know your thoughts...

