Guacomole with a twist for the umpteenth time …

Posted: April 13, 2014 in Condiment, Mexican, Savoury, The Spice Trail
Tags: , , , ,

Avocados are definitely in season, especially the Hass avocados with their black, bumpy and pebbled skin. They are often sold ready-to-eat, and that’s how I usually buy my avocados.  Don’t be put off by the colour of the skin because the flesh has a nice smooth texture coupled with its nutty flavour. 

Guacamole_avocados

And counting …

I have lost track of the number of times I have transformed from the once-upon-a-time much loathed and boring fruit in my household to one of the most commendable and sought-after starter in recent years.

Guacamole_closed up

Guacamole_starters

Gosh!  It’s amazing that almost exactly two years ago, I posted Guacamole with a twist. It never failed to put a smile on my face each time I read the story.  I hope you will enjoy reading the story – yet again –  and the trick I used to transform the palates of my then very young boys 😉

Muchas Gracias!

We have to thank the Aztec ethnics of Mexico for introducing this simple yet magnificent dish!

Guacamole is an avocado-based mousse (sauce). The name is derived from two Aztec Nahuatl words, “ahuacatl” (fruit of the avocado tree) and “molli” (sauce).  It is traditionally made by mashing ripe avocados with pestle and mortar with course sea salt.

With the evolvement of time, wealth and technology, the recipe introduced new ingredients such as tomato, onion, garlic, juice of lemon or lime, chili and coriander leaves. One ingredient that I do not understand why it should be added in a homemade guacamole is the mayonnaise or sour cream (one or the other)!

By the way, the guacamole has become one of the best known dips/condiments to go with corn chips (tortilla chips) and is available in all Tex-Mex eateries. In places where avocados are expensive, guacamole is considered a delicacy.

Making avocados child-friendly

Avocados ranked one of the tops on the “hate list” for children. It must be because of the bland taste and mushy texture. When I cut a slice of raw avocado and gave it to my sons for the first time, they said it was disgusting!

I was promptly challenged by their action.  My sons have put me to the test, without them knowing it.  The day they spitted out the freshly cut slice of avocado was the day I converted my boys!

Here’s how I did it.

Ingredients –

4 ripe avocados (I used the Hass ready-to-eat avocados)

Grated garlic (1 tsp or more if you like garlic)

Very finely chopped onion (1 tsp)

Very finely diced tomato (halved and deseeded)

Plenty of chopped fresh coriander (leave some whole leaves for garnishing later)

Juice of 1 lemon (or lime) or more to taste

Course sea salt (I ground these and added to the rest to taste)

Freshly milled black pepper

Small amount of chicken stock cube (not too much, please!)

Peeled pre-boiled grey shrimps

8 lightly sautéed or boiled tiger prawns (for garnishing)

Preparation –

Assemble all the ingredients together, except for the tiger prawns and some whole coriander leaves.

Mash the mixture with a fork.  Do not over-mash and please do not forget to check the balance of taste and flavour to your liking.

The trick to keep your guacamole green

Once avocados are cut and exposed to air, they discolour rather quickly.  Although the taste remains constant, the discoloured guacamole may not look too appetizing. One of the tricks I learnt to keep the guacamole green is by putting the seed of the avocado in the guacamole-mix. The lemon or lime juice also helps in avoiding the colour change.

Here’s my version of the guacamole, prepared as a starter.  No corn chips, but topped up with lightly sautéed tiger prawn. It has become a winner with my guys. I have fully converted my boys, on the same day they spewed the avocado piece. My younger son was then 3 years old!

Yes!  The thrill of victory! 😀

I’m definitely submitting this post to Bangers & Mash’s Mexican Month on The Spice Trail hosted by Vanesther Rees.

spice-trail-badge-square[1]

 

A blessed week everyone!

 

Cheers!

Comments
  1. melharry says:

    aduh…my favorite tok. Avocado di Kuching cost a bomb. For the love ♡of the food..i will make them. 😉

  2. […] Guacomole with a Twist for the Umpteenth Time from Nasifriet […]

  3. Vanesther says:

    Looks and sounds incredible. I love guacomole but don’t get to eat it as I have an intolerance to avocados – it’s so unfair! I think I overdid the bacon and avocado sandwiches a few years ago and my body won’t let me eat them anymore… But the rest of my family love guacomole and I’m sure they’d love your recipe. Great entry for this month’s Spice Trail challenge, thanks for sharing.

  4. Nasifriet says:

    I know avocados are really expensive over there. If you come over the next time, this will definitely be on the menu😉

  5. Nasifriet says:

    Oh dear, it really is unfair for you 😣Guacamole has become one of our favorite dishes. This is something my guys will never get tired of😄

  6. […] Veg has made a super easy, super healthy Holy Moly Guacamole! (2), while Nasifriet offers us her Guacomole with a Twist (3) – the twist coming in the form of grey shrimps and tiger […]

Let me know your thoughts...

