Sweet Potato Salsa – my sweet revenge …

Posted: April 22, 2014 in Cook Your Books, Little Thumbs Up!, Made with Love Mondays, Mexican, The Spice Trail, Vegetarian
Tags: , ,

I was feeling rather sluggish and lethargic of late. With the back-to-back meetings at work, it did not help at all. I had to miss a proper lunch and ended up getting the last piece of a super teeny-weeny, mini piccolo sandwich from our sandwich vending machine.

My stomach rumbled and my head spun like a spinning top. I felt as if someone had drilled a crowbar through the skull of my head and my eyeballs felt like they were popping out of their sockets. The pain was excruciating, and driving home from work with the glaring sunlight was no fun.

Not the first time

That was not the first time. I have had many bouts of severe headaches or migraine and I have found a way to ease the pain, at least it worked for me.

By not eating anything would aggravate or even trigger the pain and I am not a person who likes to pop over-the-counter painkillers.

Quick Fix

I had a Russian colleague who told me that coca cola worked for her. I did try her method. It was really only temporary. Anyway, I’m not into all these fizzy or carbonated beverages, hence, I eliminated that method. What I did was buy some sweet potatoes – the bright orange-fleshed ones. Purple-fleshed potatoes would be even better but I never had the chance to find those in our stores yet.

Because I wanted a quick fix, I resorted to microwaving the sweet potato, making a few pricks on the potato with a fork, and then placed it on an absorbent paper. I microwaved the sweet potato for a few minutes until the potato became softer when pressed lightly with the back of the fork. Then I would cut the potato in half lengthways and that’s it, just eat the potato right out from the shell, with a spoon, of course!

A Notch Above

That evening, I wanted something different, something more special than the ordinary, and something that could titillate my palate and calm my pain. I found just the answer! I was bowled over by the vibrant orange colour of the salad, simply called, Sweet Potato Salsa.

1. Sweet Potator Salsa_closed up1 

This is a Mexican salad, very colourful with its natural sweetness and above all, refreshing. All ingredients used are fresh, fresh and fresh.

2. Sweet Potato Salsa_collage 

The recipe is based on Julia Canning’s The Salad Bible. I have indicated my comments in blue font comparing with the author’s recipe.

Ingredients –

  • 675 g sweet potatoes, peeled & finely diced (I used 3 medium sized orange-fleshed sweet potatoes, peeled and then cut in big chunks of 3 cm)
  • Juice of 1 small orange (I squeezed the juice of ½ + ¼ of the normal size orange, or according to taste)
  • 1 tsp dried crushed jalapeños, or chilli flakes (I could not find fresh or dried jalapeños, hence I used fresh cayenne pepper, deseeded)
  • 4 small spring onion, finely chopped (I used 3 medium sized spring onions)
  • Salt to taste (I did not use)
  • Juice of 1 small lime (I used half in the salsa and half for garnishing)

 3. Sweet Potato Salsa_sweet potatoes 

Method –

  1. Boil sweet potatoes in water to cover over medium heat for 8 to 10 minutes or just until soft. ( I steamed my chunkily cut sweet potatoes in a microwavable steam basket for 7 minutes on 600W)
  2. Drain sweet potatoes well using a colander and return the sweet potatoes to saucepan and place back on burner with the heat turned off to dry out. ( Since I steamed my sweet potatoes, this step was completely omitted)
  3. Place in a bowl and allow to cool. (While my sweet potatoes were cooling down, I diced them up)
  4. Combine orange juice, jalapeños, spring onions. Set aside
  5. Mix gently with the diced sweet potatoes until well coated. Chill for at least 1 hour
  6. Add salt to taste and lime juice for a fresher taste (I did not use salt. I squeezed the juice of half a lime)
  7. Allow to stand for at least 1 hour longer before serving (I skipped this step as I was too hungry to wait for another hour. Furthermore, I made this salsa in the evening after coming home from work and I did not intend to have a supper!)

According to the author, the salsa will keep in the refrigerator for 2 to 3 days (For me, my bowl of salsa was gone the same evening I made it!)

4. Sweet Potato Salsa_ingredients

5. Sweet Potato Salsa_closed up2

By the way, my headaches were gone and I slept like a baby that evening. Sweet potatoes work for me all the time and they are – without a doubt – my sweet remedy 🙂

I am dedicating my Sweet Potato Salsa recipe to the following blog-hop events –

1)      Vanesther’s Bangers & Mash’s Mexican Month on The Spice Trail

spice-trail-badge-square[1]

2)      Cook-Your-Books #11 hosted by Joyce from Kitchen Flavours

Cook Your Books

3)      Javelin Warrior’s Cookin w/ Luv’s Made with Love Mondays: Week 21st April

Made with Love Mondays

4)      Little Thumbs up with the April 2014 theme using “ORANGEas the main ingredient organised by Doreen from my little favourite DIY and Zoe from Bake for Happy Kids, hosted by Ann from Anncoo Journal at this post.

th_littlethumbups1-1
What’s new and beneficial about Sweet Potatoes?

Please check the link here

 

 

Enjoy the rest of the week.

Cheers!

Comments
  1. Sweet potatoes certainly seem like a far healthier and tastier way to keep the headaches at bay than a can of fizz. What a great idea! And I love the sound of this salsa – very original and delicious with the lime and jalapeño…

  2. Wow, what an attractive and delicious bowl of salsa! I have never tried using sweet potatoes in a salsa. I would finish the whole plate right away too!
    Glad to know that your migraine has gone away. It is no fun having a headache, much worse with a migraine!
    Thanks for sharing with CYB!

  3. Nasifriet says:

    And it’s so easy to put together in a jiffy😉

    Great thing is you can adjust the level of heat you want for this salsa.

  4. […] Sweet Potato Salsa from Nasifriet […]

  5. Nasifriet says:

    We are so used to using sweet potatoes in our bubur cha cha, but Infact this root veg is quite versatile. I always make sure I have stock of this veg in my pantry 😉

  6. Vanesther says:

    This looks just so fresh and zingy and divinely delicious! What a great entry for this month’s Spice Trail challenge. Thank you so much for taking part 🙂

  7. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks, Vanesther. I’m looking forward to your next Spice Trail…😉

  8. Ann Low says:

    Hi Nasifriet, I love colourful salad like yours. So pretty and healthy, yummy too!
    Thanks for joining this month Little Thumbs Up – Orange theme.

  9. Nasifriet says:

    Hi Ann, thanks for hosting the April month’s theme using Orange. It’s a very versatile fruit, which can be used in both sweet and savoury dishes 😉

    Noticed you have a LONG list of link ups. I will hop over to check the blogs – slowly but surely😄

  10. melharry says:

    I never knew sweet potato is a remedy to migraine…that’s good to know…and furthermore I love sweet potatoes especially the orange colored ones.

  11. Nasifriet says:

    You should try this, Da. It works for me all the time, and it’s really easy to put together, so healthy and super delicious😄

  12. Are sweet potatoes really good for headaches? I love sweet potatoes but I know of very few recipes other than steaming and making sweet potato soup for dessert. Will bookmark and try this. 🙂

  13. Nasifriet says:

    I cannot confirm this as a remedy for everyone, but there’s something in sweet potatoes that work well with me.
    You should give it a try to see if the root veg works for you😉

    Best to eat the sweet potatoes at their purest state, ie steamed or boiled. It will not work if you make bubur cha cha out of it… Coconut milk + sugar may aggravate the situation.

    I found this recipe the best, as everything was put together at its purest form😉

  14. […] a couple of sweet potato dishes next. I love the look of this vibrant Sweet Potato Salsa (8) from Nasifriet, which sounds so zingy and refreshing, and then how about these marvellously […]

Let me know your thoughts...

