Fresh Pea Mint Soup in a jiffy! #Soupmaker

Posted: May 7, 2014 in Cooking with Herbs, Four Seasons Food, Made with Love Mondays, Savoury, Soup, Soupmaker, Vegetarian, Western
Tags: , , ,

I cannot believe this. We are almost at the tail end of Spring! Geez… how time flies! It seemed like only yesterday when we celebrated Christmas!

Speaking of Christmas – last year – I bought a simple electrical Soup Maker that became the be-all and end-all of (one of) my kitchen appliance(s) today.

To buy or not to buy…?

I must have walked round the shelf in that electrical store a myriad of times. To buy or not to buy? I reckoned the store’s CCTV was following every step and movement I made that day. LOL!

It was winter, for God’s sake, and the vision of a bowl of freshly-made hot soup was certainly very inviting in my mind’s eye. Mmmm…

And the Soup Maker looked SO cool!

But alas, the one I saw on the shelf was the last piece, not for sale but for the showroom! I immediately placed an order with the shop assistant, who graciously informed me that I had to wait for another week or two. The gadget was enormously popular.

A week passed by.  

I received a missed call on my cell phone from a rather unusual number. The ‘caller’ left a message on my voicemail and courteously informed me to pick up my order I had placed a week before!

Bingo!

My Soup Maker had arrived! Yay!

1. PeaMintSoup_Soupmaker 

The Soup Maker came with a recipe book, but I have yet to follow any of the recipes. I may get some ideas for making compotes later 😉

By the way, I am not being sponsored by the Maker – at all. It just so happened that that product was on the special Year End promotion at the store 😉

Warm Cold Days and One Big Supporter

I did not tell hubs about my “secret investment”. I don’t blame him because he knew that I have the tendency to hoard my ‘investment’. Gadgets I have bought seemed to be stashed in the cupboards untouched and unused – all brand new. LOL!

But not this time:-D

My Soup Maker is one of the most used items to-date!

1. RCC#1_soupmaker 

Hubs could not believe the soups I have concocted were made fresh from the Soup Maker. I have not only warmed our cold winter days, but I have won the heart of one huge supporter *wink*

Easing Number 26

Ouch!

I have one rather sick tooth. In the world of dentistry, this tooth has a name, and it’s called “Number 26”.

Number 26 has been bugging me for quite some time now. I could not enjoy eating a hearty meal as Number 26 just does not allow me to.

By the way, everyone has Number 26. It’s one of the 12 broad-faced grinding teeth. Number 26 happens to be my once-upon-a-time most used and active left upper grinder, but it’s currently quite ‘sick’ 😦 

No worries, it will be “repaired” soon … but only in a week or two … fingers crossed!

The Soup Maker has been my saviour the past days in calming my Number 26.

Here’s a soup I made recently, the Pea Mint Soup – all things fresh and in season, ready within half an hour from washing, chopping, slicing, cooking and platting up. Exactly what I needed with my busy schedule…

3. PeaMintSoup_Closedup 

Peas are in season, especially starting in the month of May through October. Peas and mint go really well together. Mint is a useful herb and is one of the remedial herbs to easing toothaches. In my case, it’s easing my Number 26 😀

Here’s how I made my quick and fresh Pea Mint Soup in my Soup Maker.

Ingredients (own recipe)
(serves 4)
 
  • 350 g peas, washed
  • 1 leek – the white part only, washed away any signs of grits and grimes between the folds and layers
  • 3 stalks white celery sticks, washed and removed the stringy outer layer
  • Fresh Mint leaves, washed and roughly torn
  • 1 medium-sized potato, peeled, washed and diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled and halved
  • Course Sea Salt and pepper to taste

 4. PeaMintSoup_ingredients 

 Method –

  1. All vegetables must be cut, chopped and diced in more or less even sizes
  2. Transfer the cut vegetables into the Soup Maker
  3. Add seasoning – course sea salt and freshly milled black pepper
  4. Stir the mixture with a spoon
  5. Add water up to the level between MIN and MAX
  6. Stir one more time
  7. Select the button (I chose the 1st button for finely blended soup. Other functions included chunky soups, compotes and smoothies)
  8. Press Start

5a. PeaMintSoup_Soupmaker1

5b. PeaMintSoup_Soupmaker2

 

After 20 minutes, the soup was done!

Enjoy!

6a. PeaMintSoup_before

6b. PeaMintSoup_after

6c. PeaMintSoup_end result

Note: If you do not own a Soup Maker, by all means, prepare the soup in the manner you are most used to.

Oh by the way, I just came across this blog event, May’s Four Seasons Food which really intrigued me. Before the season’s up, I’m joining in the fun and am submitting this entry to Four Seasons Food May Challenge: Celebrating Spring hosted by Delicieux and Eat Your Veg

fsf-spring

In my previous post, Malaysian Honeycomb Cake Re-visited, I made a “grievous” fault in linking that entry to Made With Love Mondays Event (Week 5/5/2014). I should have read and re-read the event’s list of “prohibited / restricted” items. I have used a ‘canned’ item in the form of canned sweetened condensed milk. I would like to apologize to Mark. Then again I wonder if I could buy freshly made sweetened condensed milk anywhere. I have found one in a tube, though. To make amends for my previous linkup, this time, I am submitting all things fresh and made from scratch to Javelin Warrior’s Cookin w/ Luv‘s  Made With Love Mondays: Week of 5th May 2014.  I hope I’m not disqualified with this submission…

Made with Love Mondays

 

I am also linking this post to Cooking With Herbs Recipe Challenge for the month of May, hosted by Karen from Lavender and Lovage. I have used fresh “Mint” as the selected cooking herb.

 Cooking with Herbs

 

P“eas(e)” be with you 😀

 

Cheers!

 

Comments
  1. I’ve heard of soup makers before, but I’ve never seen on in action like this – what a simple way to prep dinner in without any fuss. This soup sounds perfect for spring (what’s left 😉 And you’re right, finding non-canned sweetened condensed milk is like finding a unicorn :/ I have seen some recipes online for a DIY version which look intriguing..

  2. Nasifriet says:

    Ever since I bought this soup maker, I haven’t had any of the store-bought soup in tetra brik. It’s hassle-free and of course, a lot healthier making your own soup 😉

    BTW, thanks for the tip about DIY sweetened condensed milk. Will check that out…

  3. Alison says:

    I have wondered about soup makers and never thought they would be much use, but it actually looks really handy. Your soup looks lovely as well

  4. Nasifriet says:

    Hi Alison,

    Nice to read you here 🙂
    The Soup Maker has helped a lot in cutting down my work load in the kitchen. What is even more handy is that you can cut your veg, potatos, garlic etc the night before and put them in a ziploc bag and leave it in the fridge. At noon, just throw in the cut veg in the soup maker and add the seasoning and water between the level of MIN and MAX. The water level must never be above the MAX line. Press start and the soup maker will do the job of blending, cooking and heating the soup for 20 minutes! Please note that the soup maker is meant to blend vegetables, fruits and liquid only, not meat. I will only add pre-cooked meat balls after the soup is done.

    The soup keeps warm in the soup maker for at least 45 minutes to an hour, but my soup never remained in the maker that long. The soup maker serves 4.

    And yes, it’s really, really handy especially if you don’t have a lot of time in the kitchen…

  5. Eat Your Veg says:

    Thanks so much for linking up to Four Seasons Food and so sorry it’s taken me until now to get the time to read your post! Intrigued by your soup maker but it looks like a handy piece of kit. Lovely soup recipe, perfectly fresh and zingy from all the mint.

  6. Nasifriet says:

    The soup maker is indeed a handy piece of kit. I’ve just made soup this morning and poured it in my thermos flask. It’ll be my “lunch” at work :-).

  7. […] Nasifriet: Fresh Pea & MInt Soup […]

  8. […] white elephant. Oh oh! Me think that’s in my DNA, too. Yikes! If you have read my post, here, I mentioned about my “secret investments” which’re my husband’s […]

Let me know your thoughts...

