Home-roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Posted: November 19, 2014 in Cooking with Herbs, My Treasured Recipes, Snack, The Spice Trail
Tags: , ,

In my previous post, I wrote about making jam from a pumpkin (Slow-Cooked Zesty Pumpkin Jam). It was my first attempt in making any sort of jam. I was amazed by the outcome and promised myself that I would make it again, however, I’m afraid not this year as there are so many other things to do, create and cook in the pipeline😜

Waste not want not

Since my husband bought only one small pumpkin the other day, I did not want to waste anything out of it.

The bright orange colour of the pumpkin was amazing. The pumpkin was sold by its French name, potimarron but on the catalogues at our local supermarkets, the pumpkin was called by its Dutch name, “kastanjepompoen” (chestnut pumpkin). This is so because inside the tough outer skin is a firm flesh that provides a very sweet, delicate and almost chestnut-like flavour

IMG_8734.JPG

After cutting the pumpkin in two halves, I knew immediately what I wanted to do with the seeds! Anyway, I LOVE all kinds of seeds – pumpkin, sunflower, watermelon, flax, chia, etcetera. I have listed pumpkin seeds, among others, commonly known back in my birthplace as “kwa chee“, as one of my favourite snacks at Chinese New Year. You can read all about it here. I could snack on a packet of these seeds on my own. Yup, they are SO addictive. 😊

Now, instead of snacking on store-bought seeds, what if I home-roast those seeds in my very own kitchen?

Well, I did just that😜

Did I not say, waste not want not?

I’m always excited and eager to learn new things. I searched the net and YouTube and found one rather easy and practical method from Clean & Delicious by Dani Spies. I followed her method in cleaning and drying the seeds, but did not leave overnight to dry the seeds.

IMG_8732.JPG

Then instead of using just olive oil and salt, I included some of my favourite spices – ground cinnamon, brown sugar, freshly milled black peppercorns and chilli flakes.

IMG_8733.JPG

The end result was scrumptious. Sweet, fragrant, salty with a mild hint of heat from the chilli flakes and warmth from the freshly milled black peppercorns

IMG_8730.JPG

By the way, the seeds were roasted in the oven at 160 degrees Celsius for 10 to 12 minutes. The timing depends solely on the type of oven you own.

Et voilà!

IMG_8731.JPG

I am linking this post to My Treasured Recipes #3 – Taste of Autumn (Oct/Nov 2014) hosted by Miss B of Everybody Eats Well in Flanders and co-hosted by Charmaine of Mimi Bakery House

And without much ado, I’m also linking this cinnamon-sugar-chilli-pepper mix flavour to Lavender and Lovage’s “Sugar & Spice (November and December Cooking with Herbs Challenge)”

IMG_8719.PNG

It has been a while since I last linked to Vanesther’s blog Bangers & Mash, hence I thought this post would do justice to her collection of Spice Trail. I’m linking this post to November’s Spice Trail – Peppercorns

IMG_8714.JPG

Sugar and Spice and everything nice. That’s what girls are made of😉

Enjoy the rest of the week!

Cheers!

Comments
  1. Hi Nasifriet,
    Thanks for sharing and linking up. I have been wanting to do this for ages. You know I always save up the seeds for planting. But one day, it dawned on me that i can make melon seeds out of them, but I dunno how. My melon seeds have been washed and dried in a cool dark place (berging) for 2-3 weeks already, do you think they can still be roasted? I cracked one open, it was already soft inside.

  2. Nasifriet says:

    Oh what a pity! You could have immediately roast them once washed and dried. They stay crisp ‘forever’ when stored in airtight jars.

    I guess you can still roast them but the flesh would have shrunk from its shell and you would not get that meaty flesh when you crack them.

    Same goes with our walnuts. If left too long in the “berging”, the flesh of the walnuts will shrink from the shells and there’s an odd “greasy” taste from the nuts. What I normally do with our walnuts is freeze them up. Probably you can do that, too, with the melon seeds? Vacuum-packed?

  3. […] Home-roasted Pumpkin Seeds from By the Way… By Nasifriet […]

  4. […] always on the look-out for new ideas to reduce food waste and these Home-roasted Pumpkin Seeds (5) from By the Way… By Nasifriet are an excellent way to use the leftover seeds when […]

Let me know your thoughts...

