Baking – especially, bread – is not really my cup of tea, and yet I have baked this bread for the third time!

IMG_8937.JPG
When I baked this loaf for the first time, my sons urged me to bake it again the following day! Can you imagine that?

Well, I could totally understand 😉. Not only was the bread drop-dead gorgeous looking with the braids, it was immensely yummy with its wholesome filling.

And by the way, I have a secret to tell you, too.

I was amazed at how easy it was to put this bread together, especially coming from someone who does not have a penchant for bread-making. And believe you me, even the braiding was not rocket science. In fact it was simple weaving. I must say I was enjoying myself and feeling proud with every end result😉 

Secret of Success 

I owe my good execution (ahem!) to a great and humble “teacher”. I stumbled upon her recipes on YouTube. She has a very pleasing and honest voice and sweet disposition that easily magnetised a multitude of viewers and subscribers to her channels. There’s something about her that you can trust, ie, by following her recipes, you would end up being happy with the outcome. I have referred to two of her other recipes and have not felt disappointed.

She’s not a professional baker. Far from it. She’s like me – a mother with two sons, residing abroad, believes in God, loves her family and friends and cooking. To me, comparing like for like is the secret of success.

Well, shifu Aeri Lee, I nicked your recipe!

It was so good that I just had to spread the word. 

I followed Aeri’s dough method to a T while tweaking her ingredients by adding freshly torn basils and fresh thyme. I have also adjusted her main ingredients part of the recipe with flavours and degree of piquancy that agreed to our palates.

I added carrots for additional colour and texture. We all know carrots are available year-round, but there are unusual varieties harvested in late summer to autumn. Baby carrots, for instance.

IMG_8956.JPG

Main ingredients
(Inspired by Aeri’s Kitchen, tweaked according to personal taste) 

Yields 2 Loaves 

Baking time: 20 minutes at 200 deg Celsius 

  • 500 g mix of minced pork and kalf 
  • 2 Fresh tomatoes, chopped 
  • 1 Onion (diced) 
  • 1 tsp thai hot chilli flakes (not in recipe – optional)
  • 2 Garlic cloves (minced) 
  • 1 Red chilli (finely chopped) 
  • 1 Green chilli ( finely chopped)
  • Coarse Sea Salt (to taste) 
  • Freshly milled Sarawak white peppercorns (to taste) 
  • 1 Carrot (diced – not in recipe) 
  • 2 cm piece grated ginger (not in recipe) 
  • Olive Oil
    Fresh Basil (not in recipe) 
  • Some shredded or any grated cheese (not powder form) 

The Minced Filling – Method 

(Note: I made the filling the night before and refrigerated it) 

1. Sauteé the diced onion, minced garlic and grated ginger until fragrant. 

2. Add the minced meat. Stir and mix to combine until the meat turned colour (from pink to slightly cooked). 

3. Then add the chopped tomatoes, diced carrots, chilli flakes, finely chopped fresh chillies. Stir-fry for a few minutes and then add some freshly milled Sarawak white peppercorns, salt to taste and freshly-torn basil leaves. 

Dough Ingredients – 

  • 3 1/4 Cups All Purpose Flour 
  • 1/2 Cup Water (luke warm) 
  • 1/2 Cup Milk (luke warm) 
  • 1 Tbsp Butter (room temperature
  • 1 Tbsp Sugar 
  • 2 1/4 tsp Active Yeast (1 package)
  • 1 tsp Salt
    1 Egg Yoke (for egg wash) 
  • Fresh Thyme (not in recipe)
  • Fresh Basil (not in recipe) 


The Dough – Method 

1. In a large bowl, pour in the milk, water and yeast. Set aside for 5 minutes 

2. Then add in the Self-raising flour, salt, sugar, butter, basil and thyme. Knead the dough. 

3. Lightly grease the bowl and place the kneaded dough in a warm place for at least one hour (or in the oven with just the light on)

For the step-by-step method of handling and weaving the dough please refer here

IMG_8935.JPG
With the temperature outside plummeting to single digit of late, a slice of the freshly baked chilli bread is just mesmeric. Mmmm….

And what’s great about this bread is you can concoct the filling to a vegetarian version with ratatouille. The next time I bake this bread, I will make a curry chicken filling. Can’t wait😍

IMG_8762.JPG

IMG_8772.JPG

IMG_8767.JPG

IMG_8938.JPG

I am linking this post to the following blog-hop cooking challenges – 

My Treasured Recipes #3 – Taste of Autumn (Oct/Nov 2014) hosted by Miss B of Everybody Eats Well in Flanders and co-hosted by Charmaine of Mimi Bakery House 

Lavender and Lovage’s “Sugar & Spice (November and December Cooking with Herbs Challenge)”

IMG_8719.PNG 

Bangers & Mash’s November’s Spice Trail – Peppercorns

IMG_8714.JPG 

This post is linked to Tasty Tuesdays hosted by Le Coin de Mel!

  

Have a fantastic weekend! 

Cheers!

Comments
  1. Kevin says:

    Delicious!😄

  2. Oooh…this looks so yummy and mouthwatering! I am not very good at baking bread and I have been learning recently how to make some interesting types. Your very detailed instructions and pretty pictures are easy to follow, I must make this soon! Lol! 😉

    Do have a lovely weekend!

    With best wishes,

    choesf 😀

  3. Nasifriet says:

    Hi choesf, good to read you here. Yes, the loaves were yummy, pretty wholesome because there’s bread, meat and veg all-in-one. I’ve done the vegetarian version with ratatouille filling, which was equally yummy, but my boys prefer the meat filling😊. I will make chicken curry filling the next time. It must not be wet curry, more like curry puffs’ filling otherwise the base of the bread will go soggy…

    Enjoy the rest of the weekend!
    Cheers

  4. When you mentioned using chicken curry for your next filling, it reminded me of the famous huge chicken curry or pork curry baked buns sold in Lukut, near Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan. One huge bun is about 1-foot in diameter, the size of a dinner plate and can serve a few persons –

    http://www.luckykingbun.vnet2u.com/

  5. Nasifriet says:

    Oh, were you referring to the famous Kampar chicken curry bread? This is one of my to-do list. Don’t think the filling is suitable for this braided bread due to the sauce. The filling for this braided bread should be dryer, otherwise the base of the bread will be soggy😁

  6. Oh? There’s another chicken curry bread famous from Kampar? Hahaha…I have only eaten the Lukut one. Yes, the filling in that Lukut bun will be too wet for bread – they had their chicken curry wrapped in a piece of plastic and the bread dough wrapped over that. They have more sauce for dipping the bread in. Ah, that’s part of the Chinese culture (not sure if the other races do this too) that I grew up in – we like to eat our chicken curry with bread. Lol! 😀

  7. Nasifriet says:

    Ah.. When I opened the link you sent, it does look like the Kampar chicken curry bread. It’s not round but the elongated loaf-shaped. I’m sure it’s yummy. I LOVE dipping my bread in the curry sauce. Used to have that when we were younger. Every CNY and Christmas, my Mum made big pots of chicken curry. The curry tasted even better the next day and we all love dipping the bread with the leftover curry. Memories are made of these… Yummy! I have been thinking of making the Chicken curry bread, Kampar or Lukut style….but not sure if my Belsian boys will like it. They love this braided chilli bread and curry puffs though…

  8. Glad you also loved dipping your bread into curries when you were younger. I would love to see your chicken curry in this braided bread style….maybe I can surprise my husband and children when I make one! Lol!

  9. Vanesther says:

    This looks delicious and so satisfying too. And the possibilities are endless for fillings – love it! A great entry for The Spice Trail challenge – thanks for linking up 🙂

  10. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks, Vanesther. Looking forward to the next Spice Trail challenge 😄

  11. Nasifriet says:

    I’ll pingback when I get there😜

  12. […] Nasifriet says baking is not usually her cup of tea, this tasty Braided Chilli Bread (9) is something she does like to bake again and again. And I can see why. It’s stuffed […]

  13. Mmm this is right up my street. What a nice surprise when you cut in #TastyTuesdays

  14. This looks delicious and a great idea. I think I might have a go and adapt it to a veggie version x

  15. Nasifriet says:

    Hi Lisa, the best thing about this bread is that you can create any filling of your choice. The sky’s the limit.

  16. MOMM says:

    That looks delicious! I’ve been meaning to make a bread for so long…This might be the one I finally bake! Thanks!

  17. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks! Yup, it was delicious and so easy to make. I’m going to make this again soon using diff filling😄

  18. Your bread looks absolutely gorgeous: no wonder your boys asked you to bake it again the day after you’d made it. You really make it sound easy. My boys would love it! Thanks for sharing with #TastyTuesdays

  19. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks… Will be making it again with a diff filling ☺️

Let me know your thoughts...

