This is an extraordinary special dish and a special dish does not come by everyday. I made this dish on Sunday although it should have been served today, 9th December.

IMG_9182.JPG

Too Good To Be Forgotten 

It was 18 years ago today when this special tot became plus one mortal to earth’s population, however, I can tell you that this homo sapiens was not ready to come out into this world that soon. It was comfortably curling itself in its own world, called the ‘water bag’.

Was it going to be 1st Dec? 3rd Dec? 6th? 10th? 15th? I hadn’t the clue because it was all new to me. No contractions. No pain. Nothing. I could dribble a ball and do a slam dunk. No problem at all. And yet my OB/GYN confirmed full term and scheduled the planned date for delivery on 1st Dec. 

Hubby was anxious, or rather, nervous, because I showed no signs of labour. Then what?

Going back to my OB/GYN, she said, “Check in early on 9th Dec. The baby should be out.” Hubby checked me in at 8 am on 9th Dec… but the baby did NOT want to come out. The ‘gateway’ was too narrow and it was curling and snuggling comfortably really high up. And then a nurse came and I felt a sharp and piercing pain. She did something to open the ‘gateway’. I was in agony. It went on for hours on end. I was the loudest (literally speaking) patient on that floor, because the pain was just unbearable. I felt like I was dying. I was completely exhausted and worn-out. Poor hubby was nervy and on edge seeing me wailing in pain.

After a long and grueling 12 hours and 45 minutes on the ward, baby made the statistics – after an induced labour, ten hours of excruciating pain, one hour of epidural anaesthesia and the last one hour without – the little dude came at exactly 20:45CET! My firstborn 💙

IMG_9225.JPG

And that was the day when our lives changed completely. We were no longer two, but three and counting 😉 My second experience was an exact opposite. Baby could not wait to come out. You can read my experience here

A Birdy December 

Have you ever realised that the meat dish that is normally served on Christmas Day is usually a bird? Even the Christmas Carol, The Twelve Days of Christmas mentioned 7 different feathered friends. Oh by the way, if you had counted six, count again. It’s SEVEN – really!!

7 Swans a Swimming
6 Geese a Laying
5 Golden Rings
4 Calling Birds
3 French Hens
2 Turtle Doves
and a Partridge in a Pear Tree

You must be wondering, 5 Golden Rings? Well, the 5 gold rings were not actually gold rings but they refer to the five golden rings of the ring-necked pheasants!

It’s December, so a bird on a plate is the best gift ever for a birthday boy.

IMG_9197.JPG
 

Last year, we had Baked Quails with Bacon Rashers in White Grapes Sauce – A Christmas Eve Special. On the request of the birthday boy, I bought some quails on Sunday. Instead of baking them, I braised the little birds.

IMG_9188.JPG

This recipe is adapted from Cooking Channel’s Braised Quails with Wild Mushrooms. I tweaked the recipe and improvised according to taste and available ingredients. Instead of white wine, I used Bourbon Whiskey. I excluded the mushrooms altogether as my sons are not fans of wild mushrooms. My recipe as follows –

IMG_9184.JPG

INGREDIENTS 

  • 6 quails, cleaned 
  • Coarse sea salt and freshly ground black pepper 
  • Some butter 
  • Olive oil 
  • 250 g bacon, cut into slivers 
  • 2 small onions, chopped 
  • 1 Tbsp all-purpose flour 
  • 2 caps Bourbon Whiskey (Jim Beam)
  • Water or stock broth 
  • A handful of fresh basil leaves 
  • 1 bay leaf 

DIRECTIONS 

1. Season the quails with salt, and pepper. Melt a knob of butter with a drop of olive oil in a casserole dish and brown the quails on all sides. As you can see, my casserole dish is quite small. The 5th and 6th birds were browned in a separate pan (I did not photograph).

IMG_9185.JPG

2. Remove the quails from the dish, and set aside. Add the bacon to the pan, brown it, and remove. Finally, fry the chopped onions until fragrant, adding a bit of olive oil, if needed.

IMG_9186.JPG

3. Stir the flour into the onions, and cook for one minute. It will get dry and lumpy at this stage. Deglaze the pan with a capful or two of the Bourbon Whiskey, stirring up the good bits at the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon. Return the onions, bacon and quails to the casserole dish. Pour over the stock and bay leaf, cover, and simmer until the quails are just cooked through, about 25 minutes. Toss in fresh basil leaves.

IMG_9187.JPG

IMG_9190.JPG

4. When the quails are done, remove them from the cooking liquid and keep them warm. Make a gravy from the cooked liquid. Season to taste.

IMG_9194.JPG

If only you were here to see my son finished this plate. He licked his platter clean – literally speaking – and if only bones were edible, too 😜

IMG_9193.JPG

With Christmas round the corner, I am bringing this platter to the following Christmas Cooking Challenges –

My Treasured Recipes #4 – Ho Ho Ho It’s Christmas (Dec 2014) hosted by Miss B of Everybody Eats Well in Flanders and co-hosted by Charmaine of Mimi Bakery House

Cook and Celebrate: Christmas 2014 hosted by Yen from Eat your heart out, Diana from Domestic Goddess Wannabe and Zoe from Bake for Happy Kids

IMG_9100.JPG

I am also sharing this pre- Christmas story to readers following
Beth Fish Read’s Weekend Cooking

IMG_8715.JPG 

Nine months of anxiety, ten hours in agony but pride and joy forever. 

Happy birthday, Niels! 🎁🎉🎂 

And happy mid-week all! 

 

Cheers!

Comments
  1. Beth F says:

    Fun post! Good thing I like poultry!

  2. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks😊
    Me, too..

  3. Doreen says:

    Hi Nasifriet,
    The memories of your first newborn is truly a too good to be forgotten!
    This braised quail with bourbon is too good to be miss! Looks so flavorful, I must try to cook this.
    By the way, do you think it will be nice if I use spring chicken to cook this? I don’t think I can get quails in Sarawak.
    Thanks for sharing 😉
    Blessing!
    mui

  4. Doreen says:

    Would like to wish Niels Happy Birthday too!

  5. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks, Mui. I’m sure this recipe goes well with most poultry, spring chicken, included. Braised cooking keeps the chicken moist and tender. It’s not slow cooking which takes at least 3 hours, but braising takes a shorter time. It’s tasty, too. The bourbon makes the dish sounds festive and very tasty. I hope you will try it. I’m sure any wine will do as well

  6. Nasifriet says:

    He said, “Thanks!” 😄

  7. I know this feeling… Mums will never forget how we welcome our kids 😀

    You know and that’s why you cooked this special dish for him 😀

  8. Nasifriet says:

    😊😊
    I sent this link to him. I know he appreciates it, albeit silently😁
    Will be making this dish again on Boxing Day😉

  9. Happy (belated) 18th birthday to your boy! You are so funny, I can’t help laughing when I read that you said you could dribble a ball and do a slam dunk. :p

  10. Nasifriet says:

    Ha ha ha… That’s exactly how I felt – as if I wasn’t pregnant. I could even jog😁 Lol!

  11. dianaquek says:

    I have always thought quails were too small and a waste of time, but this looks so delicious, I freely admit I was wrong before!

  12. Nasifriet says:

    😄 It’s a small bird, indeed but looks elegant when served whole. It’s really a festive bird. One per person is just nice. I’ll be cooking this again on boxing day😉

Let me know your thoughts...

