“Funny when we‘re not there, they miss us. When we are there, they kinda close their eyes and pretend or think we are invisible.  When we are eventually there and as time goes by, we age quite rapidly. We actually black-out quite easily, too”.

Now, who or what are “we“, and please be specific, I asked my 2 boys.

A cat?

Nope! I wondered why a cat…

Light (bulb)?

Nope!

Fruit?

Erm…Nope!

Boys: Okay, we give up, Mum!

Mum: Well, it’s none other than those sweet yellow curvy thingy called Bananas, my boys… LOL!

Both my sons re-read the riddle that I invented and slowly nodded their heads with approval.

Boys: Yeah, you’re right Mum. No wonder you spared the lives of the bananas from being thrased and put them to good use for the umpteenth time! *LOL*

Mum: *Grin*

Banana Makeover!

I had 3 ripe bananas in my kitchen, dangling from the banana hanger, screaming out for a complete makeover! Actually, I had a few things in my mind with those bananas.

Initially, I was thinking of making banana fritters. It has been a long time since I had my last banana fritter in Kuching back in 2008!  After looking at all angles, I scrapped the idea of making banana fritters as they consumed too much cooking oil for frying and furthermore, I don’t own a fryolater.

Then I was thinking of baking a banana bread or cake. Nah! I’ve baked too many banana cakes already and have posted my downfalls and victories in these posts here, here,  here and here.

And then, I was toying with the idea of making banana chiffon cake. Not too long ago, a colleague brought his home-baked banana chiffon cake to work and shared a few wedges with me. Boy…I was bowled over! Simply scrummy, that I finally bought myself a chiffon cake pan! Did I bake a chiffon cake? Nah! Not now. That’ll come, for sure 😉

By the way, since it was Father’s Day recently, I thought of making something small with some extra goodness, and here’s the result! These little gems required no electric stand mixer. Only my working hand, a fork, a rubber spatula and 2 bowls (one big and one medium-sized), plus of course the measuring cups and spoons and the ingredients!

I have adapted the recipe from JoyOfBaking.com, which I have posted here, by including a few of my own touches.

Instead of using granulated white sugar, I opted for 1 Cup of soft light brown sugar (Cassonade Graeffe) and 1/2 tsp baking soda iso 1/4 tsp. I added 1 Tbsp caramel sauce as brown sugars are less sweet than the white granulated ones. To make the muffins a bit more special, I added 3/4 Cup Country Crisp with crunchy Chunky Nuts (wholegrain cereals, oat and barley flakes, dessiccated coconut, flaked almonds, chopped nuts – Brazil, pecan and roasted hazelnuts) and 1/4 Cup chopped pistachios.

The method of making Quick Bread or Banana bread is such a breeze. Mix all the wet ingredients in a smaller bowl and mix all the dry ingredients in a bigger bowl. Add the wet to the dry and the chemistry begins! Fold very lightly until all white speckles of flour are no longer visible. Do not over stir unless you want hard rock muffins!   

Line a 12-hole muffin pan with paper muffin cups and fill each muffin cup 3/4 full.  Bake in the pre-heated oven at 177 deg C for a perfect muffin texture at 23 minutes! Please check your type of oven. It can be anywhere between 20 – 25 deg C. My oven usually takes the middle-of-the-road path 😉

Verdict: These muffins were a joy to bite into when still warm. They were really light and the sweet banana flavour with the warm hint of cinnamon and the goodness from the nuts and crisps came through perfectly. I must confess that the nuts were not crunchy any more but you’ll definitely know their presence as they gave a nice bite and texture to an otherwise mundane-looking muffin. My boys loved the muffins and it’s the surest way to enjoy “black-out” bananas! And by the way, the muffins tasted absolutely divine the day after. Perfect in my dessert box 😉

These were simple muffins but made with love and packed with extra goodness. I’m quite certain they will make a nice treat over at Tea Time Treats hosted by Karen from Lavender & Lovage and co-hosted by Jane from The Hedgecombers with the June theme “Muffins, Fairy Cakes and Cupcakes

 

 
I’m also linking this post to Tasty Tuesdays hosted by HonestMum  

Before this week ends, I’m linking up to #Recipe of the Week 20-26 June hosted by A Mummy Too

Enjoy the rest of the week!

Cheers!

Comments
  1. Hi Dora,
    Your muffins looks yum! Love the nicely brown crust.
    My eldest love banana muffins but in my house banana will never goes black-out ..lol
    I always need to ask my kids to spare some for me to do my banana bake.
    The next time I buy banana I will spare some to bake this.
    mui

  2. Nasifriet says:

    Hi Doreen

    Thanks! I have to be very careful when baking in my oven. I used to follow some recipes’ instruction on the baking time and my cakes or muffins did not turn out the way they should. After getting to “know” my oven from several bakings, I ended up with my own timings which always turns out great. Crusty on the outside while soft and moist in the inside.

    Ha ha ha… Unlike you, our bananas always “blacked out” because there are other fruits in the fruit basket that my boys would attack first and the poor bananas are left behind…

  3. karen278 says:

    LUSH! I love these! Karen

  4. […] Here’s how I did it, by combining recipes of a cake and a muffin. […]

Let me know your thoughts...

