Green Fritters 1,2,3 1,2,3…

Posted: July 15, 2015 in Eat Your Greens, Savoury, Snack, Vegetarian
Tags: , ,

Oh Wow! I am blown away by the dance movements of an uber talented young dancer. Every time I watch her on YouTube, I am completely mesmerised. 

No wonder the channel is closed to 800 million hits!  Wow! That’s one monstrous and absolutely deserving statistic.

1,2,3 1,2,3 drink … 1,2,3 1,2,3 drink … Sia’s Chandelier and Maddie Ziegler’s dance movements kept ringing in my head and my mind’s eye like an old gramophone. 

I wish I could sing like Sia and dance like Maddie. But it’s not meant to be…. Okay let’s leave the professional acts to the professionals and leave the amateur – c’est moi – green with envy. LOL!

And by the way, I felt “literally” green. I was thinking green and yearning for something green! 

And here’s the result!  

My green-eyed green fritters:-D

It’s deliriously easy to make. Think green. Go green. Chop-chop, dice-dice and mix to amalgamate the herbs, the dry and the wet ingredients. 

You need –

  • Flour, eyeballed
  • 1 heap teaspoon baking powder
  • Chives, chopped finely
  • Spring onions, chopped finely
  • Green Paprika, finely diced
  • Fresh coriander, roughly torn
  • 1 onion, finely diced 
  • 1 green chilli, finely diced
  • Coarse sea salt and black peppercorns, ground with pestle and mortar
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten 
  • Some water, eyeballed
  • Vegetable stock cube (optional)
  • A pinch of sugar (optional)
  • Cooking Oil ( I used corn oil)

 

Mix the flour, baking powder and egg into the bowl of chopped greens and onion. Add some water to form a batter which is neither too thick nor too runny.  Season with the ground mix of coarse sea salt and black peppercorns. You may want to crumble a quarter of a vegetable stock cube and a pinch of sugar for balance of flavour. 

Scoop a tablespoon of the batter and drop it in a heated wok or frying pan with cooking oil. Flatten with the back of the spoon to make a flat pattie. I shallow fried the fritters until crisp and golden brown on both sides.

Remove with a slotted spoon and rest the fritters in a colander lined with absorbent papers.

And there you have it, one of my favourite savoury snacks to make. Easy peasy! 

1,2,3 1,2,3…eat 🙂 

  

  

 

Verdict: These fritters go well with a squirt of tomato ketchup or chilli sauce or the fiery sriracha sauce or home-made cucumber chilli sauce with a sprinkle of sesame seeds or crushed peanuts.  Mmmm… Refreshingly yummy! 

As with all kinds of fritters, the crisp texture on the outside will be soft when cold, however, if you want that crispy outer layer, then you need to bake them in the oven. Microwaving the fritters will not produce the same result. To be honest, I’m not a finicky eater. Refrigerated cold green fritters are good enough for me if they are not stale or rancid 😉

Enjoy!

I’m linking this post over at Eat Your Greens, hosted by A2K – A Seasonal Veg Table

 

Happy Mid-Week!

Cheers!

 





Comments
  1. shaheen says:

    Awesome, I love fritters and these look well tasty. I’ve never seen green paprika, so that peaked my interest also. The #EatYourGreens round up will be up tomorrow, hope you will join in again, also the round up for #VegetablePalette is up – by the way are you on twitter?

  2. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks for the heads up, Shaheen. Looking forward to the monthly challenges already. Btw, I have issues leaving comments on your blog, esp when it’s not a WordPress site :(. And most unfortunately, I hardly used Twitter….. Is that the only “surest and fastest” way to get in contact with you ? Let me know

Let me know your thoughts...

