No-Bake, No-Egg Nutty Milo Batik Flapjacks without Oats

Posted: September 20, 2015 in Cake, Little Thumbs Up!, Sarawakian, Snack, Sweet
Tags: , , , , ,

Honestly speaking, I have been wanting to make this insanely simple “cake” for a long time! It has been on my bucket list since time immemorial. The original recipe is called “Kek Batik” (Batik Cake), however, I called this “cake”,bars or flapjacks without rolled oats, for the simple and logical reason that it does not have a texture of a cake at all. It is a flattened no-bake sweet tray, a bit dense, chewy and crunchy at the same time, the same way flapjack or muesli bar or cereal bar or granola bar is made.

What makes this “Kek” special is the visual batik pattern when cut at cross-sections.

  
When I first found out eons ago that Milo was one of the ingredients in making this “Kek“, I was over the moon!

Champion of all Beverages

Remember this? Minum Milo, anda jadi sihat dan kuat! (Drink Milo, you will be healthy and strong)…

When we were kids, we believed in Milo as the winner of all beverages. I remembered being absolutely happy when the Milo van came to my school and passed round free iced cold Milo drinks on a very hot day during school sports events. 

Glug, glug, glug! It was so good…

My Precious!!!

I’m not a kid anymore, but I still love my Milo

Looking for Milo in Belgium is like looking for a needle in a haystack! Arghhh!

When I finally found a 200g tin of Milo recently, I felt like Sméagol clutching its PRECIOUSSSS…!

Correction ~ MY preciousss! LOL!

Green with Envy …

I was in Kuching recently. The familiar green packs were ubiquitous in every local supermarket. Yup, I was green with envy😜

  
Oh by the way, I remembered eating this “Kek” a lot during the Eid or Hari Raya Aidil Fitri celebrations in Kuching. The Malays are very good at conjuring abstract looking cakes. I was told that this “Kek” is originated in Sarawak as with the popular kek lapis Sarawak (Sarawak layered-cake) The end result of the “Kek” represents the prints and designs of edible Batik or motifs of totem poles popular with the indigenous groups of people of Sarawak.

  
LOVERLY!

I based this recipe of Kek Batik from TryMasak.my with some changes here and there. I have reduced the amount of butter quite considerably, while increasing the amount of the rest of the ingredients slightly. I chose unsalted roasted peanuts for extra crunch and texture. And I thought the last minute sprinkle of white sesame seeds made the batik Milo flapjacks  looked absolutely stunning, like magical stardust! 😍
 Ingredients

  • 200g Delacre Maria biscuits, breaking each biscuit in 2 halves
  • 100g unsalted butter
  • 200g sweetened condensed milk
  • 120g Milo
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder
  • A pinch of salt
  • Unsalted roasted peanuts, roughly crushed with a pestle & mortar
  • Sesame seeds (topping)

   

   Method

  1. On medium heat, melt the butter, followed by the sweetened condensed milk, Milo and Cocoa powder.  Stir to combine, making sure the batter is lump-free.
  2. Add in the Maria biscuits. Remove pan from the heat. Stir to coat the biscuits in the brown batter. Finally toss in the crushed peanuts. Fold in lightly with a rubber spatula.
  3. Line a cake tin with parchment paper. Pour in the batter and press and flatten the surface tightly. Sprinkle with white sesame seeds.
  4. Refrigerate overnight

  

    
  

I’m linking this post to the Little Thumbs Up September 2015 blog-hop event (MILO), organized & hosted by Doreen (Mui) of my little favourite DIY  & Zoe of Bake for Happy Kids.

 

Have a great week ahead!

Cheers! 

Comments
  1. melharry says:

    Lekker che. Senang juak polah..maok aku try juak.

  2. Nasifriet says:

    Aok. As easy as A, B, C.. Put more peanuts and a bit less Marie biscuits. More lekker 😜. Be warned though, that it’s quite sticky. You need to refrigerate if you’re not eating it otherwise it’ll “melt” in the high temp😁

  3. Hi Isadora,

    I didn’t know that Milo is so hard to find in Belgium. Heard that Milo is not available in US too! Glad that you have found a precious tin of Milo and can make this beautiful kek batik with us 🙂

    Zoe

  4. Nasifriet says:

    Hi Zoe, Milo is not sold in any of the local supermarkets, although, ovomaltine (ovaltine) is available. I got ” my preciousss ” at a Thai supermarket, imported from Singapore 😜

  5. Hi Dora,
    You are lucky to find a can of ‘precious’ over there!!
    If not this batik will not ‘on show’ here … LOL
    I saw that you have sprinkle sesame seed on top. That must have added more flavor to the cake.
    Thanks for sharing this with us!

    mui

  6. Nasifriet says:

    Hi Mui, yes the white sesame seeds added a nuttier flavour and they looked pretty, too 😜

Let me know your thoughts...

