Coconut Pandan Chiffon Cake: Foolproof first attempt!

Posted: October 18, 2015 in Cake, Little Thumbs Up!, Simply Eggcellent
Tags: , , , ,

If there was one type of cake I had always wanted to bake it right first time, it’s got to be that feather light and tall cake! Yup, it’s none other than Chiffon Cake!

This cake has been on my Bucket List for a good number of years. I am so glad I finally owned that special Chiffon cake (tube) pan, with removable base. A colleague got it for me from The Netherlands early this year, however, it has not been used until yesterday!  It’s a pretty big pan at 26cm diameter. 

Live Demo!

Yesterday I had 4 ladies over at my house, one being the ‘sifu‘ (teacher) whilst the three others and myself were the eager students wanting to know the tricks of the trade of baking one of my favourite cakes!

  
According to Wikipedia, “A chiffon cake is a very light cake made with vegetable oil, eggs, sugar, flour, baking powder, and flavorings. It is a combination of both batter and foam type (sponge type) cakes

By the way, we did not make one but 2 chiffon cakes yesterday!

One of my girlfriends also brought her cake pan over for the live cooking cum baking demo’s. Her chiffon cake pan was a smaller size than mine.

David and Goliath 😄

Baking, unlike cooking requires precise measurements, therefore, two different-size pans meant utilising different quantities of measurements. That’s when the subject of Mathematics came in handy 😉

Where precision in baking is concerned, I needed visual aids. I’m glad sifu JL took my offer by coming over to my house to give live cookery demo. 

She started with the smaller pan from my friend. While she was in control of everything from weighing the ingredients, mixing, whisking, etc, I was taking notes as I had to replicate what she had done by adapting the measurements aligning to the size of my 26cm chiffon cake pan.  You bet I was nervous. I was really paying attention to every detail.

And here were the results!

David and Goliath ~ the results!

Sifu JL got the recipe from another friend. She said it’s a foolproof recipe, even for a novice, and I couldn’t agree more. Thanks, JL!
  

My first visual aided attempt and definitely not my last! Before all these efforts went to waste and became lost in oblivion, I translated the verbal and visual ‘languages’ from yesterday to a ‘language’ I could decipher. I wanted to remind myself tomorrow or next week or next month or next year or in 10 or 20 years from now that if I googled my blog, I’m very certain that this is a tried and tested recipe that will not go wrong even for a novice …

Here’s my improvised recipe like how I grasped it, translated in a ‘language’ I’m comfortable with based on the live demo presented by JL yesterday with an amazingly positive result from my first ever aided attempt in baking a chiffon cake  😀

Pre-heat the oven to 165 deg C for 1 hour

Ingredients

(For a 7-egg 26 cm chiffon cake pan like mine)

  • 150g caster sugar (split 50/50 parts or 75g each for the whites and yolks)
  • 150g plain flour (sieved through very fine strainer)
  • 15g  baking powder
  • 59ml cooking oil (I used corn oil)
  • 118ml Chaokoh 100% coconut milk
  • Koepoe Koepoe” Pandan paste (Note: this is very concentrated paste, hence, a little goes a long way!)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 63g * 7 fresh free-range eggs (room temperature)
  • 8g vanilla sugar (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp vinegar or cream of tartar or lemon juice (optional)

 

 Method – 

  • Separate the egg whites and yolks. 
  • Divide the caster sugar into 2 small bowls of 75g each
  • In a large bowl, add all the wet ingredients ~ cooking oil, coconut milk, egg yolks and Pandan paste. Mix with a balloon whisk and then add 75g sugar and salt. Stir well to combine.
  • Re-sieve the flour with the baking powder into the wet ingredients. Mix well until no sign of flour is visible.
  • Whisk the egg whites in an electric stand mixer. Add the  sugar (75g) in 3 batches until the whites turned from foamy form to soft peak meringue and finally stiff peaks
  • Add a third of the meringue  into the cake batter and fold with a rubber spatula. Continue with the second and third batches, folding lightly but quickly until the meringue is completely combined with the batter
  • Pour the batter into the chiffon cake pan and remove any visible air bubbles by poking with the spatula. Level the top layer with the spatula 
  • Tap the cake pan 2 or 3 times on the work surface to raise the air bubbles out of the batter.
  • Check the timer of the oven and place the cake pan in the centre of the oven for 55 minutes.
  • When cake is cooked, remove from the oven and immediately tilt the cake pan upside down to cool the cake. This also helps to avoid the cake from shrinking from the pan.

   
 

I fell in love with the smooth top layer. My first aided attempt and the chiffon cake did not crack! 
 

   
 
Verdict:-

The crack was visible on the smaller cake pan due to the heat of the oven and the duration of the baking. So yes, the type of oven you own will trigger the different results.

Cream of tartar was not used as the stabilizing agent to beaten egg whites to increase their stability and volume in this recipe. My friend JL added 1/2 tsp white vinegar as substitute in the first cake. This step was omitted on the second cake. Vanilla sugar was also added in the first cake while it was omitted in the second cake. Overall, both cakes had perfect textures of a good chiffon cake, with or without the stabilizing agent. To be honest, I found the second cake was a wee bit sweeter than the first. In hindsight 150g sugar was a bit too much. I will reduce the sugar count in my subsequent attempts, plus making my own fresh Pandan juice. The Pandan paste was used due to time constraint.

Honestly speaking, making a chiffon cake is not as difficult as it appeared to be. Seeing is believing. I’ve seen it and it’s true! 

I’m linking this post over at the October blog-hop cooking event with the theme, “COCONUT” at Little Thumbs Up organized by Doreen of my favourite little DIY and Zoe of  Bake for Happy Kids and hosted by Jess of Bakericious at this post
 
 

This post is also linked to Dom’s (Belleau Kitchen) monthly “eggy” cooking challenge, Simply Eggcellent #8 with the theme, “Anything Goes!”

  

Happy new week!

Cheers!

Comments
  1. melharry says:

    Che ur chiffon cake can make it to any store. One of my favorite cake, for me any flavour will do asal kan chiffon cake….take with kopi O or teh O panas….nyaman nar.

  2. Nasifriet says:

    This is the cake I’ve always wanted to make but have put it off for many donkeys years. Finally got the chiffon cake pan this year and the rest is history. Gonna bake more Chiffons with other flavours soon.

  3. this is breathtakingly stunning and such a great colour, thank you for linking to Simply Eggcellent with such a fabulous cake!

  4. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks, Dom … And it’s super delicious 😜

  5. […] Coconut Pandan Chiffon Cake: Foolproof first attempt! […]

Let me know your thoughts...

