Lemon Yoghurt Cake (#thermomix)

Posted: January 25, 2016 in Cake, Cook and Celebrate, Simply Eggcellent, Sweet, TM5
Tags: , , , , ,

It seems like only yesterday when we were chomping on our stuffed turkey, gratin, lobsters, soups with lots of cream and all the sweets – OMG! – Christmas cakes, puddings, cookies and whatnots! A back-to-back bountiful banquets with sinful indulgences! *blush*

The first month of the new year is usually a ‘slow’ month with less activities and less eating spree :-). To be honest, it’s a rude shock to get back to the pace of reality, for me, at least. Back to work after the holiday mode and crippled with the crazy traffic jams, the icy cold weather and it gets dark ever so early! Really, leaving home in the morning when it’s still dark and coming home from work in the evening when it’s dark. It’s like living in the ‘Dark Side’ 24/7. LOL!

Tribute to my late MIL

When it’s dark and cold, our tummies seemed to rumble a bit more than normal. With not a lot of leisure time to do extravagant cooking or baking during weekdays, I opted for the easiest way out. I have been meaning to bake this ‘healthier’ version of sponge cake in a long time. By the way, this was a recipe from the Thermomix (TM5) recipe book. It not only looked great, but was a breeze to make.

  
   

My late MIL used to bake her lemon sponge cake using yoghurt instead of butter. As I have said earlier, I have been meaning to bake this cake but have not got round to doing so until now. And I’m glad I finally did it! Thanks to my late MIL for ‘introducing’ this cake to me more than a decade ago.

Ingredients –

  • 80g oil (I used corn oil), plus extra for greasing
  • Zest of 1 organic lemon (see my honest review “Verdict”)
  • 150g sugar
  • 3 free-range eggs
  • 200g flour
  • 120g Greek yoghurt
  • A pinch of salt
  • 15g baking powder
  • Some icing sugar for dusting (see my honest review “Verdict”)

  
 

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 180 deg C. Grease a bundt cake tin. Set aside
  2. Place lemon zest and sugar into mixing bowl and grind (For TM5 owners, grind for 10 sec @ speed 10. Scrape down the sides of the mixing bowl with a spatula)
  3. Add eggs and mix with a hand or stand mixer (For TM5, mix for 30 sec @ speed 3)
  4. Add flour, baking powder, oil, yoghurt and salt and mix until all ingredients are combined (For TM5, mix for 1 min 15 sec @ speed 5)
  5. Place mixture into the greased bundt cake tin and bake for 30 minutes at 180 deg C. Allow to cool in cake tin for at least 10 minutes before tipping the cake from the mould to a serving plate. Leave to cool completely and then dust with icing sugar.

  

 
  
 

Verdict: The original recipe is called, simply, Yoghurt Cake. Seeing that lemon is used in the recipe, I wanted to intensify the lemony flavour of the cake, which was light and refreshing. In hindsight, I should have used the zest of two lemons instead of one and add a splash of cointreau and make a lemon icing glace instead of just dusting with icing sugar to elevate one of my favourite citrus fruits, lemon! And what better time to start baking again with the next festive season coming up. The Chinese New Year!

Cakes of all forms, shapes and sizes are omnipresent during ‘open houses’ at Festive occasions in Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei. With the playful and intelligent Monkey shooing the woolly Sheep away come 8th Feb, this cake will surely be a hit for kids from 1 to 92 😃

Without much ado, I’m linking this post to celebrate the auspicious occasion of prosperity at Cook and Celebrate: Chinese New Year 2016, hosted by Yen from GoodyFoodies, Diana from The Domestic Goddess Wannabe and Zoe from Bake for Happy Kids 

  
If you want to indulge in something sweet, but not overly sweet and yet tasty, zingy and not too boring at the same time, this healthier version of butter sponge cake will do justice on anyone’s palate anytime of the day. For, this, I’m linking this post to Simply Eggcellent #11 – start the year on an egg … hosted by Dom @ Belleau Kitchen

  
 

 

 

 

Stay warm if you are cold

Stay cool if you are warm

 

Cheers!

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. what a beautifully light sponge you’ve made there and such a lovely compliment to you MIL. I’ve never made a lemon cake bundt before but I think I might after seeing this. Delightful. Thanks for linking to Simply Eggcellent x

  2. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks! It was indeed a light sponge. I loved it from day 1 and I’m loving it all over again. Can’t wait to bake it again with some variations 😉

  3. Hi Isadora,

    I see you bought a thermomix!!! I always want to buy one too but was told off by my husband… LOL!

    Whether it is a thermomix or not, I’m sure that you MIL’s recipe never fail to deliver a good lemon yogurt cake 🙂

    Gong Xi Fa Cai to you and your family. Stay warm! I’m sure that your winter is going to be over soon… as ours is arriving 😦

    Zoe

  4. Nasifriet says:

    Hi Zoe,
    Yup, I bought a thermomix, but after going for a compulsory demo. Took me a month to think things over. Hubby was not too keen when I made the decision to buy but the rest is history! I know the thermie is rather popular in AU, NZ and has a growing number of owners in MY and SG. It’s good for small family and medium eaters. The thermie does everything except deep fry, grill and bake😜
    Gong Xi Fa Cai to you and your lovely family!

Let me know your thoughts...

