Foolproof Char Bee Hoon (Fried Rice Noodles/ Vermicelli) #thermomix

Posted: April 16, 2016 in Asian, Noodles, Own Recipe, Savoury
Tags: , , , , ,

I must confess since owning the Thermomix, I have became somewhat analytical in the way I cook, and even trying to challenge why we can’t fry rice in the thermie the normal way? 

There are thermomix fried rice recipes on the net. Honestly ~ in my opinion ~ they should not be called “Fried Rice” (rather misleading, if you asked me …) but more appropriately, “Mixed Rice”, simply because cooked rice cannot be fried in the TM

Against all odds, the stubborn me decided to cook fried rice in the Thermomix, my TM5.  It was a DISASTER!  I ended up with a sticky and clumpy mass and felt like a downright despondent nincompoop …

By the way, the taste was great but there was absolutely no way I could fix it. I could transform that into a yucky looking porridge but that defeated the entire purpose. I wanted Fried Rice. Period !

   

Conclusion: Thermomix cannot fry (cooked) rice.

Thermomix , Noodles and Pastas 

To err is human.  I have learnt the grievous mistake in frying cooked rice in my Thermomix. That was my first and the last time I attempted such a stunt. 

Don’t get me wrong, though, the Thermomix cooks awesome rice and porridge, which my family has enjoyed immensely.

Here’s the verdict of awesome fluffy rice cooked in my thermie. I kept my rice warm by covering the simmering basket with an aluminium foil. 

  

And then came the question of whether we could fry noodles in the Thermomix…

That’s when my inquisitive mind became inquisitiver. Lol!

Here’s the result of cooking tagliatelle in my thermie. The pasta came out to perfection, ie with the right ‘al dente‘ texture.
 

Question: If we can cook pasta in the TM, why can’t we cook Asian-style noodles in there? 

Answer: Yes, we can!

Hint: Follow the logic of cooking the pasta (found in TM5 recipe book or chip) and you will end up with a foolproof Asian-style fried rice noodles cooked in your thermie. 

Here’s my first attempt and I LOVED it! My family loved it. 

  

Here’s how I cooked my foolproof Char Bee Hoon (Fried Rice Noodle/ Vermicelli). Note, you need to use thicker strands of vermicelli, not the fine ones to xerox my result.

By the way, the choice of ingredients and taste is up to you. These, you need not have to xerox mine at all.

Ingredients A

  • 30 g shallots
  • 15 g garlic

Ingredient B

  • 20 g cooking oil

Ingredients C

  • 355 g water
  • 2 Tbsp mushroom oyster sauce
  • 2 Tbsp light soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp sesame oil
  • A dash of ground white pepper

Ingredients D

  • 250 g ‘Go Tan‘ Rice noodles (Bee Hoon) – rinsed briefly with cold running water; do not soak 
  • 60 g white celery (stalk)
  • 60 g carrot
  • 60 g green bell pepper
  • 60 g red bell pepper
  • 60 g yellow bell pepper 
  • 1 stalk spring onion
  • 200 g fish cake, sliced 

   

  

How to prepare?

  1. Place A in TM bowl. Blend for 5 sec/ sp 5. Scrape the sides of the inner bowl
  2. Add B. Sauté for 3 mins/ V/ R/ sp 2
  3. Add C and cook for 4 min 30 sec/ V/ R/ spoon
  4. Add D. Cook further for 5 mins/ V/ R/ spoon. Leave the noodles in the TM bowl for 5 mins before serving. Note this last step is not necessary if you are using fine vermicelli sticks.

   

  

 

Verdict: With the right choice and type of rice noodle/ vermicelli, the texture and the amalgamation of flavours were accurately absorbed in the noodles without getting clumpy or sticky or cut-up. I kid you not. 

I wish I could have 2nd or 3rd helping but that was not meant to be. A 250g-packet of  Go Tan rice noodles was the right quantity to serve 4 people as a main meal. 

Using Finer Vermicelli Sticks

On the other hand ~ to give you an idea ~ using finer strands of vermicelli may result in the noodles getting cut-up whilst the blades were spinning, even at reverse/ spoon speed.

Here’s one I made earlier 😜

  
 

Verdict: As you can see, the strands of noodles were shorter, but definitely not a clustered clumpy mass. And hey, I wasn’t complaining. My guys were not complaining, either, so all’s well that ends well😋

Have a great week!

Cheers!

Let me know your thoughts...

