Steamed Buns (with Char Siew filling) #thermomix

Posted: April 17, 2016 in Asian, Baked Bread/ Bun/ Puff, Meat, Snack
Tags: , , , ,

I made my first foolproof steamed buns or paos 3 years ago. I’m glad I have gone through that pao-making journey the conventional way first before delving into the “mind” of an automated kitchen gadget early this year. This reminds me of learning to drive a manually-manoeuvred car first before going into an automatic-geared one.  

For the record, I am still a believer of manually operated cars. Call me old-fashioned, but isn’t that what we have to go through life first? Always learn and tackle the hard way first and everything else will be easy peasy? 😜

Three vs One

3 years ago, I went through the hurdles of getting the dough proofed 3 times before I could taste the fruit of my success. It was a long and winding process and the key word was ‘Patience’. My Kenwood did a fantastic job in kneading the dough to perfection…BUT it was the waiting time that consumed my day.

Here’s why …

First Proofing

Second Proofing


 

The pao on the right was proofed for the third time. The one on the left was proofed twice

With lots of patience, the paos turned out top notch in my books in terms of size and texture. 

L – R : Tau sar (red bean paste) bun and chicken bun

Then came the Thermomix.  My waiting time was reduced by two thirds as the buns required to be proofed only once for 30 mins.  That’s it!

And here’re the results…

Any difference?

    
 

Following my conventional pao recipe, I converted the method to that of the Thermomix way of cooking. Instead of vegetable shortening, I used corn oil.

Ingredients A

  • 120 g water
  • 20 g corn oil
  • 20 g sugar
  • 1 tsp instant dry yeast

Ingredients B –

  • 250 g Pao flour (note using plain flour is a healthier option but will not yield the white, soft and fluffy texture of a classic Chinese steamed buns)
  • A pinch of sea salt

Ingredient C –

  • 600 g water

How to prepare ?

  1. Place A in TM bowl: 30 sec/ 37 deg C/ sp 3
  2. Add B. Mix for 30 sec / sp 0 -> 6
  3. Knead for 2 mins
  4. Tip the dough on a work top and knead lightly to form a log shape. Cut 6 to 8 pieces from the dough.
  5. Flatten each ball into disc-shape and add char siew filling into each flattened disc.
  6. Proof the buns for 30 mins
  7. While waiting for the buns to rise, boil 600 g water @ 30 mins/ V/ spoon
  8. Place the proofed buns in the Varoma set (dish and tray). Steam for 25 mins/ V/ R/ sp 3. Rest for 5 mins before serving 

   
  

With homemade char siew filling

I would be lying if this was not yummy …

Verdict: The stark difference with using the TM was that, a huge proportion of my time has been saved as opposed to the conventional way. There appeared to be no difference in the texture of the pao immediately after it came out of the steamer (Varoma set), however, TM paos if left to cool too long would harden, unlike the traditional paos, which would remain soft and fluffy.  The only way to work around the TM paos was to freeze them as soon as they have cooled and steamed them when needed. Size-wise, TM paos were only slightly smaller (due to less proofing duration).  Both methods had no influence on the taste. They were equally yummy. Finally, use your imagination for the filling. It’s your pao, your call😜
I’m linking this post to Cook Blog Share Week 17 hosted by Sneaky Veg

Blessed Sunday!
Cheers

Comments
  1. Thanks so much for adding this to #CookBlogShare – so interesting reading about how to make pao – not something I have ever tried!

  2. Nasifriet says:

    Hi Mandy, the best thing about making pao is that the filling is endless. My mum used to make chicken curry or vegetable filling when we were young. We loved them lots. What’s great too is the generous and fresh amounts of ingredients used in homemade paos😜

  3. hijackedbytwins says:

    Oh wow these look and sound so good! Thank you for joining in with #CookBlogShare I am planning to feature this recipe in my weekly round up so keep an eye out and I hope you continue to join in!

  4. Nasifriet says:

    Thanks! I’m looking forward to sharing my posts in #CookBlogShare, for sure 🙂

  5. Amber Phua says:

    Do you mean bao by any chance?

  6. Nasifriet says:

    Yes. We called this “pao” where I come from 😉

Let me know your thoughts...

