Singapore Laksa La Mian à la Kuching in Belgium

Posted: April 23, 2016 in Friends, Noodles, Own Recipe, Personal, Spicy
Tags: , , , , ,

MP just returned from Australia after an extended Christmas and New Year holidays in Singapore late last year until early this year. When she flew back to BE, she wanted to meet up with X and I. It used to be a yearly tradition – Hubs and I, X and hubs and MP and hubs, however, with the demise of MP‘s husband, we decided to meet ~ only us girls ~ without our other halves lately.

For X, weekends are near to impossible as she’s the biggest supporter and fan of her Professional footballer son, DJC. Football matches are usually scheduled on weekends and X has never missed a single match when her son’s playing or not playing. And weekdays are out of the question for X and I as we both work full time. Finally we came to a consensus and chose one Friday evening after work. I carpooled in X‘s car.

INSTANTly Charmed 

We arrived at MP’s apartment and were entertained with tidbits, nuts, vodka and coconut water. Mmm… Pretty weird concoction, but it was okay, meaning we were not tipsy 🙂

MP confessed she’s not much of a cook. What she eats and cooks are instantaneous prepackaged meals.

While the 3 of us were chatting, she suddenly disappeared from the living room and came back with 3 packets of instant noodles!  Yay! We’re going to have instant noodles dinner!  

Uh-uh! MP was not going to cook. She was showing X and I and boasted how good the instant noodles were. The best, she said. I could not concur as I have not eaten instant noodles in a long time. 

By the way, I later googled that the 3 packets of instant ramens MP were showing us ranked Top 10 in the world, 2 of which ranked numbers 1 and 2 based on Ramen Rater’s Top Ten instant noodles for year 2013! Wow! I wasn’t even aware instant noodles were taken so seriously.

Nope! We did not meet to eat instant noodles – sorry to disappoint you 😉 It was a special evening and we adjourned to a Thai restaurant in the vicinity.

   

Kuching Laksa with a Twist 

Three weeks after the 3 of us met, I stumbled upon the instant ramens at an Asian store in the city centre.

By the way, I have stopped buying or eating instant noodles but this one was different. I was enthralled by the word on the package. Laksa

I bought 3 packets, priced at Eur 2.45/ pkt, which were not cheap at all, however considering the size of the packet, I hoped it was a home run buy. 

Introducing Singapore Laksa La Mian.  It’s a huge packet with a net weight of 185 g, thus making it a main meal, and most importantly, No MSG added

 
  

Each packet consists of 2 sachets, (A) Laksa paste and (B) Laksa premix. The noodles or La Mian or ramen were pre-steamed and air dried. The “premix” is actually coconut milk powder (santan). 

I did not follow the instruction labelled at the back of the packet, instead I did it my way, which I was familiar with. I transformed the Singapore Laksa La Mian to Kuching Laksa *big smile

First, I made the prawn broth and the chicken broth; and then I cooked an omelette, blanched some bean sprouts briefly in hot water. I then cut a lime in wedges and finally there were fresh coriander leaves for garnishing.

 

I cooked 3 packets of the La Mian, but used only 1 sachet of coconut milk powder (Laksa Premix). It tasted rather odd if I used all 3 sachets. 1 sachet was plenty.

And here were the results!
  
  

With different lighting and camera angle, the colour of the laksa broth was creamier.

 

Verdict : In 2013, the Singapore Laksa La Mian ranked no 1 in the world and has been on the Top Ten on the Ramen Rater’s List ever since. With such elite ranking, the laksa must be good, right? Frankly speaking, I did not cook the laksa as it was, hence I could not judge the taste in its original recipe.  I have modified the broth with prawns and chicken. That could be the reason why the laksa tasted very homemade, however, the Laksa paste had a strong shrimpy flavour (hey bee). I’m absolutely okay with the extra umami flavour, however, the coconut milk powder was not my favourite ingredient. A little goes a long way. For 3 packets, I used only 1 sachet and added half a chicken stock cube and course sea salt to taste with 500 ml * 3 water proportion. All the condiments used to garnish my bowl of Singapore Laksa La Mian were revamped to that of  Kuching Laksa.  The la mian (ramen) was undoubtedly the best. I loved the al dente and chewy texture of the noodles. It was top notch. That’s what made the Laksa La Mian very satisfying. Will I buy this instant noodle again? Yes, why not? It was a good instant noodle. I’m just not sure if it was the best. I missed the sour component of the laksa.  I had to squeeze a few  wedges of lime to balance the flavours – spicy, salty, sweet, umami and sour.  THAT made my meal complete!

With quite a bit of broth leftover, I blanched some vermicelli and made a bento box of Kuching Laksa for me to bring to work the next day.  It was THE most satisfying and appetising lunchbox ever!

  
  

Nom… Nom… Nom!  It was YUMMEH!

Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

Cheers!

Let me know your thoughts...

