Asian · Baked Bread/ Bun/ Puff · Cooking with Herbs · Curry · Feel-Good · Little Thumbs Up! · Malaysian · Meat · Nostalgia · Poultry · Savoury · Snack · Spicy

Easy-breezy hassle-free Curry Puffs

After getting a stamp of approval from my three guys for steaming my very first foolproof baos / buns – with success – there was no stopping me.  I steamed some more buns last weekend!

Did I not impart in my endnote, here, that I was a happy BUN-ny? 😀

I made the chicken-filled buns – again – last weekend on the request of my sons.  I thought the equation of steaming more buns meant requiring the consumption of a gigantic portion of chicken meat, hence, I bought a whole rotisserie chicken (kip aan’t spit).  Duh!

Chix pao_Kip aan 't spitWhen I saw how much meat I could fork out from the bird, well, maybe a bit too much for my chicken-filled paos, I had to put Plan B in action. Waste not, want not 😀

2. Curry puffs_ meat removed

I knew immediately what I wanted to make from the balance of the chicken mixture. Yep, curry puffs!!  This is one snack that brings me down memory lane.  I LURVE curry puffs 😀

2z. Curry puffs_curry puffs

Short cut to success

Curry Puff = Curry + Puff

Didn’t I say it’s easy peasy (breezy)?

Okay, I’m cheating here, because I bought two store bought puff pastries, one called ‘bladerdeeg met boter’ (puff pastry with butter) and the other, simply, ‘bladerdeeg’ (puff pastry).  By the way, isn’t butter one of the key ingredients in making puff pastries?  Erm…double dose of Duh’s… LOL!

I bought two different types of puff pastries because I was not sure which of the two puff pastries would engage well with my curry puff recipe.  If one fails, I would not be left in the lurch.

Now, the curry – I used Yeo’s Malaysian Curry Powder. Oh by the way, this was a gift from Chris – all the way from Ohio, USA!   Thank you, my friend.  The crinkled look on the packet means that the curry has not been deserted.  It was used to the fullest 😀

3. Curry puffs_curry powder

Ingredients:-

2 packets store bought puff pastries (makes 20 curry puffs)

Curry powder, to taste – honestly speaking, I used quite a lot, as I love curries 😛

I will omit the measurements in this post because it doesn’t make sense as the curry chicken filling was the leftover of the chicken-mix for my steamed buns. Please hop over here where the more precise ingredients and method can be found prior to adding the curry powderI added dried shiitake mushrooms this time.

Rotisserie chicken (pre-grilled/ pre-roasted/ pre-baked chicken meat or any of your favourite cooked meat!) – Believe you me; pre-cooked meat is a savior to this dish as it cuts a chunk of your cooking time. This statement concurs the ‘hassle-free’ part 😉

Carrot, grated

Spring Onion – cut in small rings

Ginger (I used one whole young ginger, grated)

Garlic, minced with some coarse sea salt

Roots of fresh coriander, minced

Dried shiitake mushrooms, soaked in boiling water for 30 minutes until plumped up

Sesame Oil

Soy sauce (I used Kikkoman soy sauce)

Shaohsing wine (optional – this was used for the steamed buns. Please omit, if you must)

Oyster sauce

White pepper (I added freshly milled black peper)

Sugar – taste for balance

Water and cornflour to thicken the sauce

Vegetable Oil

1egg, beaten – brushed on coating  

4a. Curry puffs_ingredients14b. Curry puffs_ingredients2

Pre-heat the oven to 190 degrees Celsius.

Once the chicken mixture is combined, add the curry powder. Stir well; making sure that the chicken mixture is coated completely with the curry powder. Refrigerate until you are ready to handle the puff pastries.

5a. Curry puffs_ingredients35b. Curry puffs_ingredients4

Scoop 1 tea-spoonful of the curry chicken filling onto each dough circle. I used a drinking glass of 8 cm in diameter to mould the circles from the puff pastry.

6. Curry puffs_chix filling

Fold the chicken-filled pastry in half moon and start crimping or pleating the crust. I used the fork crust crimp method. Easy peasy! No hassle.

Finally, bake the curry puffs for 20 minutes or until golden brown.  My kitchen smelled exquisite that Sunday afternoon 😉

By the way, the rope crust crimp method would be really stylish and elegant looking. I tried doing that but most did not turn out with that rope crust crimped effect at all.  I did, however, manage to crimp one which turned out to be one big ugly blob!  I just gave up *sigh*

This was one monster curry puff! My sons said this looked like a dead chicken. LOL!

7. Curry puffs_monster puff

‘Dead chicken’ aside, I did pull some good lookers 😉

Et voilà!

My easy peasy hassle-free curry puffs for any busy full-time working or stay-at-home Mums. Yummilicious!

Curry puffs made with puff pastry with butter
Curry puffs made with puff pastry with butter
The fork crust crimped curry puffs were made with the 'normal' puff pastry
The fork crust crimped curry puffs were made with the ‘normal’ puff pastry
Closed up of the freshly baked curry puffs :-D
Closed up of the freshly baked curry puffs 😀
My Monday morning breakfast.  YUMMY!
My Monday morning breakfast. YUMMY!

By the way, do you remember these?

9a, Curry puffs_cross-section19b. Curry puffs_cross-section2

That’s the cross-section of the once-upon-a-time ugly blob!  As a saying goes, “Don’t judge a book by it’s cover”…

I rest my case  😉 

I am submitting this entry to the Little Thumbs Up event with the theme ,”CURRY”, hosted by Miss B of Everybody Eats Well in Flanders, organized by Zoe of Bake for Happy Kids and Doreen of my little favourite D.I.Y

Photobucket

As well as to the September 2013 Cooking With Herbs Blog Challenge hosted by Lavender and Lovage

Cooking-with-Herbs-300x252

Cheers and carry on curry-ing!

11 thoughts on “Easy-breezy hassle-free Curry Puffs

  1. Amai, why didn’t you “DHL” these yummy epok-epoks to me? :p

    Great minds think alike, I was thinking of doing curry puffs this week, but using the long-winded way. But with 2 kids bothering me all the time, looks like I better using some ready-made puff pastry to reduce the hassle and time taken!

    I still had some ready-made frozen (made-in-Singapore) paratha pastry that I bought from the chinese supermart, it’s time to put them to good use!

  2. Hahaha! The curry puffs were gone in less than a day… gonna make more lah. The ready-made puff pastry makes life so easy. Don’t think I have a lot of patience to make the puff pastry from scratch 🙂 But I hope you will share with us your step by step method of making the pastry… 😉

    Paratha pastry? That’s interesting. Don’t think I’ve seen this before, but I have a frozen roti pratha (something like roti chanai). Tastes great with curry dhall. Hmmmm…CURRY!!!

  3. Oh, I think it’s the same thing we are referring to. I was looking for the Malaysia Kawan brand paratha pastry (actually roti canai/roti prata) in the shop, but I could only find a Singaporean TeeYihJia brand and so I bought that, was quite good.

    With regards to the make-from-scratch curry puff pastry, it’s difficult to find one that is meant for baking I don’t like deep-frying, never good at it, although we have the frituur machine, but it’s covered in dust! 🙂

  4. Ah…I bought my frozen pratha at our local asian store. It’s really quite good, isn’t it? I’ve made murthabak out of it as well, adding beaten egg. Great for Sunday brunch 😛

    Like you, I don’t like deep frying my curry puffs. I guess we are the only family in Belgium who do not own a “frituur” LOL!

  5. hi che…your kali pap looks yumm yumm…not forgetting our tua che’s favourite puff. Kitak nang pandei masak…kagum kamek eh. Mun kamek gi sia terpaksalah che polah kei sweet potato.. Hehehe…

    Looking forward for your next recepi.

  6. Thanks for the tip about the Malaysian curry powder. I’ll actually seen it at our Asian supermarket but never tried it. We get almost everything here but I’m often disappointed with the curry pastes I buy. I’m not surprised all the puffs you made were gone in less than a day. They look so yummy. We love puff pastries in my household. I grew up partly in Singapore and remember the mouth watering curry pupps at tea time. Btw I agree about the frozen prathas. We get them here too and they’re not bad for something ready made. I don’t have the patience either to make pastry.
    Denise & Biren’s lovely blogs brought me here btw 🙂 Not sure if you’re in the Flamand or Wallon region but I’ll take the risk and say tot ziens 😀

    Jeanne

  7. Thanks, Da.
    I’ve been away from dear old cat town for far too long. Miss all the yummy dishes – homemade and even restos, hence, my principle is: “if you’re craving for something, you have to DIY”

    Amun ka’au tapak gitou neh, akou subet veg version 😀

  8. Hi Jeanne

    Nice to read you. Welcome to my blog! You’re right, I’m an ardent “follower” of Denise and Biren 😀 It’s amazing how cyberspace makes the world seemed so small, and what a domino effect. Just read your gravatar profile. We have exactly the same heroes 😀

    BTW, the Malaysian curry powder has a “special” curry aroma. You should try it. It has more heat (and flavour) than the “normal” ones you find in the supermarkets 😉 Well, you can always blame me, if you don’t like it, but I LOVE it!

    Oh yes, I still have a packet of the frozen prathas. Hmmmmm…. will come up with something. Am craving for my next curry adventure 😀

    I live in Flanders, so you’re right. “Tot ziens en tot de volgende keer, hopelijk…?”

Let me know your thoughts...